Skip to content

Yuck Sail Forward on Churning ‘Middle Sea,’ From New LP ‘Glow & Behold’

Yuck, 'Glow & Behold,' "Middle Sea," track list, stream

No wonder Yuck exuded confidence during a recent SPIN interview. “Rebirth,” the London band’s first track since the departure of former frontman Daniel Blumberg, showed the band continuing to refine and update their ’90s-minded shimmer ‘n’ swoon. “Middle Sea,” the latest selection from Yuck’s upcoming album, only further goes to show they have, if anything, improved with the new lineup.

A hard-charging indie-rock anthem with male-female harmonies and a raggedly hypnotic guitar riff, this one updates a lyrical theme from the previous single. “I don’t want your love / I want you,” guitarist and newfound frontman Max Bloom sings on that one; “I don’t want to live forever / I don’t want to live / I want you now,” he insists this time. Before too long, a horn part arrives like a tiny conquering army. If only Sebadoh had realized crossing the ocean could be this effortless. Turns out, the water’s just fine.

Yuck have also confirmed the other important details for their follow-up to 2011’s self-titled debut. Produced by Chris Coady (Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Beach House), Glow & Behold  boasts 11 songs and is due out October 1 (September 30 in the United Kingdom) via Fat Possum/Pharmacy. Bloom, who plays on the album with bassist Mariko Doi and drummer Jonny Rogoff, told SPIN that for this album “wanted to make a proper journey from beginning to end.” So far, Yuck are headed in the right direction.

Yuck’s Glow & Behold track list:

1. “Sunrise In Maple Shade”
2. “Out Of Time”
3. “Lose My Breath”
4. “Memorial Fields”
5. “Middle Sea”
6. “Rebirth”
7. “Somewhere”
8. “Nothing New”
9. “How Does It Feel”
10. “Twilight In Maple Shade (Chinese Cymbals)”
11. “Glow & Behold”