Watch Big Boi and Kelly Rowland’s Retro-Futurist ‘Mama Told Me’ Video

Big Boi and Kelly Rowland 'Mama Told Me'

For Big Boi and Kelly Rowland, reflecting on what their mothers told them necessitates returning to the up-to-the-minute styles of the ’80s. “Mama Told Me,” a track from Big Boi’s upcoming Vicious Lies and Dangerous Rumors that we’ve already heard in both Rowland- and Little Dragon-assisted versions, draws on svelte, rubbery-synthed ’80s R&B like that of Bobby Brown, who gets a lyrical name-check. The video, too, reaches back for flashy graphics that would’ve looked like the future in a Tron-era video arcade. The OutKast rapper and former Destiny’s Child singer never quite appear to be in the same shot, but both have a sophisticated look about them: Big Boi in dapper hat and glasses, Rowland in a feathery coat. There’s gratuitous cognac product placement, and an equally gratuitous dancing pyramid with legs. That’s the one your mother warned you about.

Big Boi also unveiled the official track list for Vicious Lies and Dangerous Rumors, now due out on December 11 via Def Jam. We’ve already been to not one but two listening sessions for the album, so the credits don’t offer much in the way of surprises, but yeah: Wavves, Phantogram, and Little Dragon all appear on Big Boi’s new album. Holy indie bands, Batman!

Don’t miss: Manic Expression: Andre 3000 Talks Jimi Biopic, Big Boi, and Movember

Big Boi’s Vicious Lies and Dangerous Rumors track list:

1. “Ascending”
2. “The Thickets” feat. Sleepy Brown
3. “Apple of My Eye”
4. “Objectum Sexuality” feat. Phantogram
5. “In the A” feat. T.I. and Ludacris
6. “She Hates Me” feat. KiD CuDi
7. “CPU” feat. Phantogram
8. “Thom Pettie” feat. Little Dragon and Killer Mike
9. “Mama Told Me” feat. Kelly Rowland
10. “Lines” feat. A$AP Rocky and Phantogram
11. “Shoes for Running” feat. B.o.B and Wavves
12. “Raspberries” feat. Mouche and Scar
13. “Tremendous Damage” feat. Bosko
14. “Descending” feat. Little Dragon

15. “Higher Res” feat. Jai Paul and Little Dragon
16. “Gossip” feat. UGK and Big K.R.I.T.
17. “She Said OK” with Theophilus London and feat. Tre Luce


Scroll to Top