TV on the Radio Confirm In-the-Works Fifth Album

'Cookie Mountain' dwellers make the big announcement on Facebook

tv on the radio, new album, tunde adebimpe
TV on the Radio's Tunde Adebimpe Photo by Getty Images (Chelsea Lauren)
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

TV on the Radio is now officially working on their fifth studio album. The art-rock visionaries confirmed the news via Facebook on November 8 with a post that reads: "Time to let the cat out of the bag: We're working on a new record. Right this very moment. Meow, y'all." In keeping with the feline metaphor, the message came paired with a photo of a cat sitting on top of a speaker, throwing a glowing, green-eyed stare at the camera. Scroll down for the image.

Right now, no other details about TVOTR's next full-length are available. We do know, though, that it's the follow-up to 2011's underappreciated Nine Types of Light, and is the band's first album since the tragic death of bassist Gerard Smith. And whenever LP No. 5 does arrive, it will also mark the group's first effort post-Interscope. Frontman Tunde Adebimpe confirmed to SPIN earlier this year that TVOTR have ended their relationship with the record label, saying, "Ehhhh...we parted ways with them. To the best of my knowledge, they can ask about another record, but I don't think we're gonna do that. Um, yeah they did what they did. That's as diplomatic as I can put that."

Adebimpe, who also performs in the side project Higgins Waterproof Black Magic Band, added that TV on the Radio was slowly working toward their next album. "We're sort of collecting material for a record, but right now we're only thinking in terms of songs, smaller things we can put out regularly until an album seems possible," he explained back in April.

Since then, the two-time SPIN cover stars released two new songs: "Million Miles" and "Mercy," which they blazed through during a September appearance on the Late Show With David Letterman. Stay tuned for more details.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA