Watch CHVRCHES' Epic 'Recover' Video

The Glaswegian synth-pop trio delivers an expansive, sci-fi-informed clip for their forthcoming EP's titular heartbreaker

Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

Glagow's CHVRCHES were a lock for SPIN's Best New Artists this month — the way these artistically minded synth-smiths flirt with genuine pop is something to marvel at, and their content doesn't disappoint either. The titular track from their March 26 Glassnote EP Recover is a bubbling ode to trying to figure your life out. "If I recover, will you be my comfort?" asks singer Lauren Mayberry in a voice that splits the difference between Kate Bush and the Knife's Karin Dreijer Andersson. Meanwhile, Iain Cook and Martin Doherty whip up a Kavinsky-dense electronic score with enough warmth to counter the doubt hidden in Mayberry's chilling lyric sheet.

The music video for the song takes a sci-fi tact, with the trio only appearing briefly as talking heads on a screen. Otherwise, mysterious cubes float through a gravity-less environment. We eventually head down a rabbit hole and into this foreign orb's core, where what appears to be a subterranean city thrives.

CHVRCHES are playing SPIN's March 15 annual Austin throwdown at Stubb's BBQ alongside Kendrick Lamar, Solange, Trinidad James and more.


1. "Recover"
2. "Zvvl"
3. "Now Is Not the Time"
4. "Recover (Cid Rim Remix)"
5. "Recover (Curxes' 1996 Remix)"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA