Skip to content

Pearl Jam Invite Snubbed Drummers to Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Ceremony

Pearl Jam will be inducted into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame on April 7. But not every existent member of the long-running band was to be included in the ceremony. Of the band’s five drummers employed over the years, only founding member Dave Krusen, and current drummer Matt Cameron, are listed on the Rock Hall’s induction docket.

Last year, when the nominations were announced, Dave Abbruzzese, the band’s drummer from 1991-1994, took to Facebook to bemoan being snubbed from the soiree; he, along with drummers Jack Irons and Matt Chamberlain, were all left off the roster of inductees. “If there is still a part of that band that remembers how hard we worked, how much blood and how much sweat… They will do the right thing,” Abbruzzese wrote on Facebook in October. In December, he went a step further, saying “I am personally at a loss for words for how Stone [Gossard], Mike [McCready], Jeff [Ament], Matt [Cameron], Edward [Vedder] and [manager] Kelly Curtis are accepting of such an injustice.”

Now, it seems the band is attempting to correct that wrong, by making sure those snubbed drummers also get their due. In a note shared to the band’s Facebook page, they’ve made sure to point out the contributions of percussionists past, and include all five of their drummers in the Hall of Fame hoopla. (Though, the Hall of Fame made clear to Rolling Stone only Krusen and Cameron would be officially inducted.)

Pearl Jam wrote:

“While awards and accolades are understandably subjective and a countless number of our peers have yet to be honored, we do feel fortunate to be recognized and provided the opportunity to reunite with everyone who has been part of the group. Specifically the drummers who left their distinctive mark on our band in the pre-Matt Cameron years. Dave Krusen, Matt Chamberlain, Dave Abbruzzese, and Jack Irons are each individually great players who gave their all to the early recordings and live gigs. Looking forward to seeing them and all the other musicians on the bill.”

Here’s the full note:

Neil Young, who was a long history with Pearl Jam, will induct the band into the Hall of Fame.