Trent Reznor's 45-Minute 'Conversation' Is With... Himself

Nine Inch Nails' 'Hesitation Marks' bonus track "In Conversation With..." also features demos

Nine Inch Nails, Trent Reznor, 'In Conversation With...', himself, 45 minutes, 'Hesitation Marks'
Trent Reznor speaks Photo by Theo Wargo/Getty Images
Marc Hogan

Oh, Nine Inch Nails' Trent Reznor, you trickster, you. When SPIN's September cover star let slip the deluxe-edition track list for NIN's Essential Hesitation Marks (one of our 50 Fall Albums You Gotta Hear), one title that jumped out immediately was "Trent Reznor in Conversation With…" — the last bonus track. If you were with us in wondering who'd be conversing with Reznor, well, the cat is out of the bag: Duh, it's himself. Also, did you know he had a cat named Fuckchop?

Reznor explains that the types of diehard fans who'd listen to a 45-minute (!) NIN chat would probably already know the answers to the typical interview questions, so he figured he'd just handle it himself. "I thought I'd use this format to really just talk about the record," he says. Spoiler: The 45 minutes also includes demos of material that didn't make the album, though Reznor reserves the right to finish those songs some other time. Make good use of any impending three-day weekend below, while coming up with food-related NIN puns.


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 2 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 3 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 4 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 5 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 6 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA