Morrissey to Retire?

090114-morrissey-smiths-retirement copy.jpg
Morrissey / Photo by Fabio Lovino
Melissa Goldstein

Morrissey may be gearing up for the Feb. 17 release of his "fantastically strong" new album, Years of Refusal, but it seems retirement isn't too far off for the former Smiths moper.

"I don't want to go on much longer, really. I think that would suggest a lack of imagination. A certain lack of dignity also," he told Filter in a recent interview. "There has to reach a point where you've said enough."

Ummm... can you elaborate, Mr. Moz? We take it this settles the flip-flopping Smiths reunion.

Meanwhile, Morrissey has released details for his new album's first single: "I'm Throwing My Arms Around Paris" will drop February 9 alongside two new b-sides -- "Because of My Poor Education" and "Shame is the Name," featuring vocals from the Pretenders' Chrissie Hynde.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 2 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 3 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57
  • 4 Blood Orange — Delancey " 02:15
  • 5 Gangrene — Play It Cool Feat Samuel T. Herring (of Future Islands) & Earl Sweatshirt " 03:53
  • 6 Jay Electronica — Road To Perdition feat. Jay Z " 03:33
  • 7 Sun Kil Moon — Ali/Spinks 2 " 00:00

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA