Led Zeppelin Plan a Whole Lotta Love, Unreleased Tracks for June Reissues

Expansive box sets due June 3 via Atlantic/Swan Song

led zeppelin, reissues
Led Zeppelin's first three albums, pre- and post-reissue
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

At last, the long-teased Led Zeppelin reissues have a release date. The first batch of re-releases cover the classic rock legends' first three albums — 1969's Led Zeppelin and Led Zeppelin II, and 1970's Led Zeppelin III. They'll arrive on June 3 via Atlantic/Swan Song, complete with a treasure trove of studio and live recordings.

Come Celebration Day, fans will be able to relive Led Zeppelin's October 10, 1969 concert at the Olympia Theater in Paris. Packaged with the Led Zeppelin reissue, the previously unreleased live recording captures a nine-song set. That includes seven songs from the band's first LP and another two ("Heartbreaker" and "Moby Dick") that ended up on their second studio effort.

Led Zeppelin II comes with a bonus disc containing alternate mixes of five songs that appear on the album proper, as well as the previously unreleased "La La" and backing tracks for "Thank You" and "Living Loving Maid (She's Just a Woman)."

The deluxe edition of Led Zeppelin III collects six studio outtakes from that era, along with three previously unheard tracks: an instrumental version of "Out on the Tiles" called "Bathroom Sound"; an instrumental precursor to "Bron-Yr-Aur Stomp" titled "Jennings Farm Blues"; and the blues medley "Keys to the Highway/Trouble in Mind."

"The material on the companion discs presents a portal to the time of the recording of Led Zeppelin," guitarist Jimmy Page, who handled the remasters, said in a statement. "It is a selection of work in progress with rough mixes, backing tracks, alternate versions and new material recorded at the time." (Before the June 3 box sets drop, Page will be honored with an honorary doctor of music degree from the Berklee School of Music on May 10.)

All three sets are available in a variety of CD and vinyl formats. Pre-order details are available through Led Zeppelin's website.

Led Zeppelin track list:

Disc 1:
1. "Good Times Bad Times"
2. "Babe I'm Gonna Leave You"
3. "You Shook Me"
4. "Dazed And Confused"
5. "Your Time Is Gonna Come"
6. "Black Mountain Side"
7. "Communication Breakdown"
8. "I Can't Quit You Baby"
9. "How Many More Times"

Disc 2 (Live At The Olympia – Paris, France October 10, 1969):
1. "Good Times Bad Times/Communication Breakdown"
2. "I Can't Quit You Baby"
3. "Heartbreaker"
4. "Dazed And Confused"
5. "White Summer/Black Mountain Side"
6. "You Shook Me"
7. "Moby Dick"
8. "How Many More Times"

Led Zeppelin II track list:

Disc 1:
1. "Whole Lotta Love"
2. "What Is And What Should Never Be"
3. "The Lemon Song"
4. "Thank You"
5. "Heartbreaker"
6. "Living Loving Maid (She's Just a Woman)"
7. "Ramble On"
8. "Moby Dick"

Disc 2:
1. "Whole Lotta Love"
2. "What Is And What Should Never Be"
3. "Thank You"
4. "Heartbreaker"
5. "Living Loving Maid (She's Just a Woman)"
6. "Ramble On"
7. "Moby Dick"
8. "La La"

Led Zeppelin III track list:

Disc 1:
1. "Immigrant Song"
2. "Friends"
3. "Celebration Day"
4. "Since I've Been Loving You"
5. "Out On The Tiles"
6. "Gallows Pole"
7. "Tangerine"
8. "That's The Way"
9. "Bron-Y-Aur Stomp"
10. "Hats Off To (Roy) Harper"

Disc 2:
1. "Immigrant Song"
2. "Friends"
3. "Celebration Day"
4. "Since I've Been Loving You"
5. "Bathroom Sound"
6. "Gallows Pole"
7. "That's The Way"
8. "Jennings Farm Blues"
9. "Keys To The Highway/Trouble In Mind"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA