Preview New D'Angelo Songs 'The Charade' and 'Sugah Daddy'

'Voodoo' mixer Russ Elevado sneaks out studio footage featuring bassist Pino Palladino

Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

Acclaimed audio engineer and producer Russell Elevado has shared studio footage from a recording session with the mighty D'Angelo, confirming that soul music's wayward king is indeed working on that new album we've been hearing whispers of since he reappeared in Stockholm two years ago. Elevado worked on the man's last album — 2000's masterful Voodoo — at New York's Electric Lady Studios. This time, they're at Henson Recording in Los Angeles.

The video above is the longest of the three, and confirms the session's location. The two brief clips below find Voodoo vet Pino Palladino (The Who, Nine Inch Nails, Adele) laying down bass on two songs: a ragtime funk number dubbed "Sugah Daddy," and a far softer fusion groove called "The Charade." Oh, and "that's D'angelo and james gadson on the couch." The latter is the legendary session drummer who's worked with Quincy Jones, Herbie Hancock, and more.

Preview "Sugah Daddy" here:


Sample "The Charade" here:


(via Okayplayer)

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA