Guided By Voices Announce New Album Space Gun, Share Title Track

SAN PEDRO, CA - OCTOBER 28: Singer Robert Pollard performs with Guided by Voices at the Growlers 6 festival at the LA Waterfront on October 28, 2017 in San Pedro, California. (Photo by Matt Cowan/Getty Images)

Guided By Voices have announced a new album slated for 2018 called Space Gun. Following two full-length releases this year (August By Cake and How Do You Spell Heaven), the album is the 26th studio LP from the hyper-prolific band and 102nd from frontman Robert Pollard.

In the press release, the band describes it as “the fullest realization of Pollard’s song talents, with the band firing on all cylinders.” Partially written on the road for this year’s August By Cake tour, the album was inspired by the band’s new touring lineup, which features contributions from Doug Gillard, Kevin March, Mark Shue, and Bobby Bare Jr. “Pollard has acknowledged that this line-up’s adroit talents pushes him to more daring and dizzying heights.”

The band have shared the album’s first single and title track, which includes recorded audio of an airport restroom paper towel dispenser. Soon enough, racing guitars barrel into the mix, with Pollard’s thunderous vocals building to spectacular heights.

Space Gun is out March 23. Listen to the album’s title track, and check out Space Gun‘s album art and tracklist below.

Space Gun album art:

Guided By Voices Announce New Album <i>Space Gun</i>, Share Title Track” title=”Print” data-original-id=”269480″ data-adjusted-id=”269480″ class=”sm_size_full_width sm_alignment_center ” data-image-source=”getty” />
<p><strong><i>Space Gun</i> Tracklist:</strong><br />
01. Space Gun<br />
02. Colonel Paper<br />
03. King Flute<br />
04. Ark Technican<br />
05. See My Field<br />
06. Liar’s Box<br />
07. Blink Bank<br />
08. Daily Get Ups<br />
09. Hudson Rake<br />
10. Sport Component National<br />
11. I Love Kangaroos<br />
12. Grey Spat Matters<br />
13. That’s Good<br />
14. Flight Advantage<br />
15. Evolution Circus</p>
</p>		</div>
				<section data-particle_enable=


Scroll to Top