Skip to content

St. Vincent Confirms New Self-Titled Album With Groove-Warped ‘Birth in Reverse’

st. vincent, annie clark, new album, birth in reverse

Annie Clark has announced her next album as St. Vincent. The upcoming effort, simply titled St. Vincent, will arrive on February 24 in the U.K. and February 25 in the U.S. via Loma Vista. Clark arranged and demoed the 11-track LP extensively in Austin, Texas, before heading into a Dallas studio with regular producer John Congleton. Dap-Kings drummer Homer Steinweiss supplies percussion, along with Midlake’s McKenzie Smith. St. Vincent is Clark’s fourth solo album (discounting her 2012 collaborative full-length with David Byrne, Love This Giant) and the proper follow-up to 2011’s Strange Mercy.

Clark recently teased the record by posting a few song snippets on her official website back in November. Now the page offers a stream and free download of “Birth in Reverse,” an erratic new track that coats Clark’s signature guitar wonkery with crackling distortion.

“I knew the groove needed to be paramount,” the former SPIN cover star says in an official statement. “I wanted to make a party record you could play at a funeral.”

Listen to and download “Birth in Reverse” below, then scroll further down for the full track list to St. Vincent.


St. Vincent track list: 

1. “Rattlesnake”
2. “Birth in Reverse”
3. “Prince Johnny”
4. “Huey Newton”
5. “Digital Witness”
6. “I Prefer Your Love”
7. “Regret”
8. “Bring Me Your Loves”
9. “Psychopath”
10. “Every Tear Disappears”
11. “Severed Crossed Fingers”