Skip to content

Enter Snowman: Watch Metallica’s Historic Antarctica Concert

metallica, antarctica, concert, freeze 'em all, video

Metallica made history earlier this month by performing a full concert in Antarctica. On December 8, the heavy metal vets became the first and only band to play shows on all seven continents in under a year. The record-setting gig took place inside of a dome at the Carlini Argentine Base, with an audience that listened to the music “via headphones with no amplification,” yet another first for Metallica. Now, fans who couldn’t journey to the bottom of the earth can witness the entire show: Metallica have shared official high-definition footage of the intimate (but not very warm) event.

Dubbed Freeze ‘Em All: Live in Antarctica (an obvious nod to Metallica’s 30-year-old debut album, Kill ‘Em All), the hour-plus video captures all 10 songs Metallica performed south of the border. Much like the 3-D blockbuster film Through the Never, Freeze ‘Em All functions as a live greatest hits set, featuring such classics as “For Whom the Bell Tolls,” “One,” “Enter Sandman,” “Master of Puppets,” and “Sad But True.” Consult the full set list below, and watch the entire performance above. Audio of the show is also available for purchase via

Metallica’s Freeze ‘Em All set list (December 8, 2013):

1. “Creeping Death”
2. “For Whom the Bell Tolls”
3. “Sad But True”
4. “Welcome Home (Sanitarium)”
5. “Master Of Puppets”
6. “One”
7. “Blackened”
8. “Nothing Else Matters”
9. “Enter Sandman”
10. “Seek & Destroy”