Skip to content

Alice in Chains Unearth Fossil Art for ‘The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here’ Album

alice in chains, the devil put dinosaurs here, new album

Alice in Chains revealed the title to their upcoming fifth album, The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here, by asking fans to decode an anagram, and the grunge gods have followed that puzzle with some more details about their next LP. According to Blabbermouth, The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here will arrive on May 14; Alice in Chains have also shared the record’s track listing (look down) and cover art (look up). Predictably, the cover features an image of a dinosaur fossil. Somewhat less predictable is the hidden image of what appears to be the devil’s head.

“We made a unique record that’s completely different from anything we ever did,” guitarist Jerry Cantrell recently told Rolling Stone when discussing the 11-track effort. “It encapsulates a period of time, like all records do. You see growth and that the band is moving ahead in new territory that we haven’t been to before, but we haven’t lost our identity.” So it’ll be unsurprising yet unique; yeah, that pretty much sums up lead single “Hollow.”

Cantrell added, “There’s some real filth in there. That’s intentional, and that’s also just how we sound together.” He continued, saying, “We’re trying to make a record that we dig and we’re trying to keep the bar high for ourselves and see if we can get past it, and I think that we did again. And of course you want people to dig it too and to respond to it, and to have that start happening is satisfying.”

The Seattle vet wasn’t quite as positive when talking to Revolver about the for the forthcoming full-length’s title, which is reportedly a reference to the religious belief held by some that Satan put dinosaur bones on Earth to discourage the faithful.

“What I’ve seen is the most basic message to most faith systems is in contradiction with how it gets applied,” Cantrell said (via Blabbermouth). “The human element seems to fuck it up. It seems to fuck up the basic truths of acceptance, loving your brother, helping each other out, not trying to kill each other or steal each other’s shit. Those are all pretty good ideas. And most of your major religions have those things as basic tenets of the belief system. It always amazes me that some of the most hateful and hurtful things are done in the name of some sort of belief system.”

The impending follow-up to 2009’s Black Gives Way to Blue once again teamed Alice in Chains with producer Nick Raskulinecz. The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here is the second AiC album to feature William DuVall on co-lead vocals.

The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here track list:

1. “Voices”
2. “Low Ceiling”
3. “Stone”
4. “The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here”
5. “Hollow”
6. “Lab Monkey”
7. “Hung on a Hook”
8. “Pretty Done”
9. “Breath on a Window”
10. “Choke”
11. “Phantom Limb”