Skip to content

Thom Yorke Sets Atoms for Peace’s Debut Album for 2013

Thom Yorke / Photo by Getty Images

Thom Yorke posted an update on Radiohead’s website today to clear up a few facts about his non-Radiohead project, Atoms for Peace. Featuring Flea and Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich, the group will release its debut album next year on XL Recordings, according to Yorke. “Default,” the skittery Atoms track that hit iTunes yesterday, was not released by default but rather is “the first tune we’d like you [to] hear,” Yorke’s statement explains, adding that a 12″ vinyl edition is due out “next month.”

Atoms take their sciencey, un-war-like name from some 2010 shows upon the release of Yorke’s solo album The Eraser, according to the Radiohead frontman. “We got a big buzz from them and discovered loads of energy from transforming the music from electronic to live, and so afterwards, we carried on for a few days in the studio and decided to make it a loose, on-going thing,” his statement reads. “Immersed in the area between the two … electronic and live.” So, as we tweet jokes at online strangers rather than saying them aloud to the physical human beings sharing our couches, kind of like the rest of us.

Fans of Yorke’s main band will still have a chance to see them soon. Radiohead are set to appear in an episode of PBS’ Austin City Limits on October 6. In the meantime, headline writers are already counting down the days until Atoms for Peace split.