Skip to content

Hear Six Songs From Trent Reznor’s ‘Dragon Tattoo’ Soundtrack


Trent Reznor is finally ready to share bits of his soundtrack for David Fincher’s American adaptation of the hugely popular novel, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. As previously reported, the movie again pairs Reznor with collaborator Atticus Ross (the two won an Oscar together for their work on Fincher’s The Social Network). The Tattoo soundtrack will be out digitally on December 9, Reznor has revealed on the Nine Inch Nails website. You can dowload six (!) tracks below and check out the full track list, which includes a cover of Bryan Ferry’s “Is Your Love Strong Enough?”

“We laughed, we cried, we lost our minds and in the process made some of the most beautiful and disturbing music of our careers,” Reznor wrote. “The result is a sprawling three-hour opus.”

Eerie and atmospheric, yet also warm and alive: The latest tracks to emerge match up closely with Reznor’s prior description of the effort, which he said was processed “in a way that gives it a really interesting, organic, layered feel.” (He has also said the recording was “all based on performance, nothing programmed.”) See for yourself by programming your e-mail address in the following widget in order to download a six-track package of “Hidden in Snow,” “People Lie All the Time,” “What If We Could?,” “Oraculum,” “Please Take Your Hand Away,” and “Under the Midnight Sun.” We hope Reznor and Ross are clearing up space in their cabinets for another Oscar.

The soundtrack is available for pre-order in multiple formats. Go through iTunes and you can instantly download Reznor and Ross’s cover of Led Zeppelin’s “Immigrant Song,” which features the Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ Karen O. The soundtrack also comes out as a triple CD on December 9. Finally, a deluxe six-LP vinyl edition of the album arrives on February 6, autographed by Reznor and Ross.

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo track list:

1. “Immigrant Song” (Led Zeppelin cover) ft. Karen O
2. “She Reminds Me of You”
3. “People Lie All the Time”
4. “Pinned and Mounted”
5. “Perihelion”
6. “What If We Could?”
7. “With The Flies”
8. “Hidden in Snow”
9. “A Thousand Details”
10. “One Particular Moment”
11. “I Can’t Take It Anymore”
12. “How Brittle the Bones”
13. “Please Take Your Hand Away”
14. Cut Into Pieces”
15. “The Splinter”
16. “An Itch”
17. “Hypomania”
18. “Under the Midnight Sun”
19. “Aphelion”
20. “You’re Here”
21. “The Same as the Others”
22. A Pause for Reflection”
23. “While Waiting”
24. “The Seconds Drag”
25. “Later Into the Night”
26. “Parallel Timeline With Alternate Outcome”
27. “Another Way of Caring”
28. “A Viable Construct”
29. “Revealed in the Thaw”
30. “Millennia”
31. “We Could Wait Forever”
32. “Oraculum”
33. “Great Bird of Prey”
34. “The Heretics”
35. “A Pair of Doves”
36. “Infiltrator”
37. “The Sound of Forgetting”
38. “Of Secrets”
39. “Is Your Love Strong Enough?” (Bryan Ferry cover)