Kyle McGovern



  • arctic monkeys brit awards 2014

    Arctic Monkeys, David Bowie Are the 2014 Brit Awards' Big Winners

    The 2014 BRIT Awards have come and gone at London's O2 Arena, and, for the first time ever, fans around the world were able to live-stream the annual ceremony. Arctic Monkeys were the night's big winners taking home Album of the Year and British Group after opening the ceremony with a flame-lit "R U Mine?". David Bowie, favored for the night's big award, took British Male Solo Artist instead, sending supermodel Kate Moss to accept on his behalf.

  • dum dum girls, too true to be good, video

    Dum Dum Girls Go Full Goth-Glam for 'Too True to Be Good' Video

    Back in November, Dum Dum Girls teased their Too True album by releasing a 90-second snippet of the music video for "Too True to Be Good," the record's semi-title track. Now, since the LP is officially out, the Dum Dums have shared the entire clip — unfortunately, there isn't too much here that we haven't already seen. Directed by Nathaniel Brown and produced by V Magazine, the video splits its time between overexposed shots of flowers and slightly fuzzy footage of frontwoman Dee Dee Penny vamping and lip-syncing for the camera. There is one revealing shot of Dee Dee that didn't make it into last year's preview, though, so look out for near-NSFW content.Watch the video above and flip through SPIN's recent live photo gallery, Dum Dum Girls Go All-Black-Everything at Mercury Lounge.

  • haim, coachella 2014, sideshows

    Coachella Taps Haim, the Knife, MGMT, and More for 2014 Sideshows

    Coachella will take over the Empire Polo Club grounds for two weekends this spring: April 11 through 13, and April 18 through 20.

  • sxsw, south by southwest, itunes festival

    iTunes Festival Brings Coldplay, Zedd to SXSW for U.S. Debut

    Apple plans to crash this year's South By Southwest with its very own music festival. The iTunes Festival, a free concert series held annually in London, will make its U.S. debut in Austin this March, in conjunction with SXSW. In England, the iTunes Festival runs for 30 days, hosting nightly performances for a full month. The U.S. edition will only span five days, from March 11 through 15, and will take place at ACL Live at the Moody Theater, where PBS' Austin City Limits tapes.Coldplay will play the opening night of iTunes Festival at SXSW, along with Imagine Dragons and London Grammar. Pitbull, Zedd, and G.R.L. are booked for March 14, while Keith Urban, Willie Nelson, and Mickey Guyton are set to take the stage on March 15. Lineups for March 12 and 13 have yet to be announced.

  • phantogram, voices, jimmy kimmel live!

    Phantogram Seduce 'Kimmel' With 'Fall in Love' and 'Black Out Days'

    This week, Phantogram finally unleashed Voices, the follow-up to the upstate New York duo's 2009 debut album, Eyelid Movies. Singer Sarah Barthel and producer Josh Carter underlined the occasion by appearing on Jimmy Kimmel Live! to perform two of the four songs they've shared over the past few weeks: "Fall in Love" and "Black Out Days." ("Bill Murray" and "Nothing but Trouble" had to sit this one out, sadly.) Barthel clearly put in the effort for "Fall in Love," refusing to stand still on the AT&T Outdoor Stage, but the motionless crowd suggested that Phantogram may have been better suited for an indoor venue. Cut to "Black Out Days" — with its chopped vocal samples, hip-hop beats, and soaring chorus that blanketed the audience — and forget any doubts. Find the former above and the latter below.

  • eternal lips, kyp malone, voice

    Hear ETERNAL LIPS Team With Kyp Malone for Odd-Pop 'Voice'

    ETERNAL LIPS is the recording project of Grey Gersten, a Brooklyn-based musician and artist who insists that he founded the outsider pop venture as "an imaginary band." Well, imaginary or not, ETERNAL LIPS will issue its self-titled debut EP on February 25, with help from New Mirage Records. Gersten has already let go of one track from the upcoming short-player (the Sharon Van Etten-featuring "Dream Hesitate"), and now he's freed another. Below you'll hear "Voice," a brainy groove that parcels out jiggling bass, spacey sonics set on rewind, and a vocal assist from TV on the Radio's Kyp Malone.

  • odonis odonis, ring of fire

    Hear Odonis Odonis Bathe Johnny Cash's 'Ring of Fire' in Noise-Punk Sludge

    Last year, noise-punks Odonis Odonis followed their outstanding Hollandaze LP with a six-track freakout dubbed the Better EP. On April 15, Canada's Buzz Records will release Hard Boiled Soft Boiled, the Toronto trio's sophomore full-length. But first comes Odonis Odonis' horrifying take on a classic, Johnny Cash's "Ring of Fire." Frontman Dean Tzenos strips the iconic song of its country twang, instead offering a deadpan vocal from the post-punk abyss, while bassist Denholm Whale and drummer Jarod Gibson do right by the band's self-coined "industrial surf-gaze" tag. Lower yourself into the "Ring of Fire" below, and get a glimpse of Hard Boiled Soft Boiled with advance track "New Obsession."Hard Boiled Soft Boiled track list:1. "Tension"2. "Are We Friends"3. "Order in the Court"4. "New Obsession"5. "Breathing Hard"6. "Mr. Smith"7. "Release"8. "Angus Mountain"9. "Office Sluts"10.

  • lost in the trees, past life, live video

    Watch Lost in the Trees Relive 'Past Life' at Moog Music's Sound Lab

    Last month, Lost in the Trees revealed the eerie music video for "Past Life," the darkly soulful title track from the North Carolina crew's third album. Now, to coincide with the record's February 18 release via Anti-, frontman Ari Picker and co. have shared footage of a live performance of "Past Life," filmed at the Moog Music headquarters' sound lab in Asheville, North Carolina. Even when it's rearranged to put extra emphasis on Lost in the Trees' new electro-rock aesthetic (note the three Moog synthesizers and set of electronic drums), the song runs on a beating heart and heavenly vocals. Watch the six-minute video above, and head over to iTunes or the Anti- store to purchase Past Life.

  • skaters, album stream, manhattan

    Stream SKATERS' New York-Mined Debut Album 'Manhattan'

    SKATERS spew out windswept pop-punk that salutes (and skewers) the foursome's adopted home of New York City. Vocalist Michael Ian Cummings and drummer Noah Rubin grew up together outside Boston, and guitarist Josh Hubbard hails from England, but, as Rubin tells it, the band (which includes bassist/New Yorker Dan Burke) was founded on a mutual love of late '70s NYC punk. "We moved here excited for New York to be that place," he says, "and instead it was a very competitive and fragmented artistic environment."Enter Manhattan, SKATERS' debut album, an 11-track portrait of life in the Big Apple.

  • constantines, reunion, shine a light reissue

    The Constantines Reunite for Summer Tour

    The Constantines are getting the band back together.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Parkay Quarts — Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth " 06:27
  • 2 Digitalism — Second Chance " 04:53
  • 3 Kiesza — Bad Thing Feat. Joey Bada$$ " 03:32

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA