Prefuse 73, 'Everything She Touched Turned Ampexian' (Warp)

Critical Mass

by Mosi Reeves

Scott Herren's fifth album as glitch-hop pioneer Prefuse 73 opens and ends on familiar ground: the melodic, heavily modulated "Periodic Measurements of Infrequent Smiles" and "Periodic Measurements of Infrequent Frowns." Between those tracks, he unfurls more than two dozen other bits, from the stuttering arpeggios of "Dec. Machine Funk All ERAs" to the surreal jug-band blues of "Four Reels Collide." Herren's stream of consciousness favors laptop techniques and restless exploration, and the results are Ampexian's modestly satisfying minute-long grooves, which seemingly end as soon as they get started.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Miley Cyrus — Baby, I'm Gonna Leave You - Led Zeppelin (Cover) " 05:44
  • 2 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26
  • 3 Buzzcocks — "It's Not You" " 02:46
  • 4 The Drums — Magic Mountain " 04:05
  • 5 Jessie Ware — Kind Of...Sometimes...Maybe " 03:46
  • 6 Flying Lotus — Coronus, the Terminator " 02:40

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA