Trent Reznor, Josh Homme, and Dave Grohl Approach Transcendence on 'Mantra'

One of several 'Sound City' soundtrack highlights

Sound City Trent Reznor Josh Homme Dave Grohl Mantra
Dave Grohl seeks transcendence through repetition / Photo by Getty images
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

In our recent Dave Grohl cover story, Mr. Grohl's Cabinet of Wonder, the main Foo Fighter made a not-so-shocking admission: "I love to play, and fortunately, I don't know a lot of musicians that suck. I know a bunch of really good ones and they're always up for playing [too]." Indeed, while his buzzing documentary Sound City largely focuses on the magic that a good studio can impart, it also serves as indisputable evidence that the former Nirvana drummer has some serious sway in the music world.

While it's impossible to ignore Grohl's rip-roaring Paul McCartney collaboration "Cut Me Some Slack," the film's Real to Reel soundtrack also includes an impressive team-up with Trent Reznor (pre-yacht) and Josh Homme (pre-Queens of the Stone Age announcements). Dubbed "Mantra" (via Stereogum), the transcendent, nearly eight-minute track opens with a simple drum beat and bass, then slowly grows into a gargantuan slab of soulful rock before ending in an orchestral explosion of guitars and keys and fuzz. So yeah, safe to say these guys don't suck at what they do.


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA