Trent Reznor and Karen O Cover Led Zeppelin

Reznor / Karen O (Photo: Amy Wallenberg, Reznor; Getty Images, Karen O)
Kevin O'Donnell

After winning an Oscar for their score to The Social Network, Nine Inch Nails' Trent Reznor and songwriting partner Atticus Ross are now tackling the soundtrack for David Fincher's The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, an adaptation of Stieg Larsson's bestselling book. The movie is not due out until Christmas, but a trailer has leaked - and it features Reznor and Ross teaming up with Yeah Yeah Yeah's Karen O for a hot cover of Led Zeppelin's "Immigrant Song." Check it out here.

Reznor and Ross' rendition is a radical reinvention of Led Zep's original. They trade in Jimmy Page's heavy riffage for all sorts of electronic weirdness (thudding industrial beats and atonal synthesizer melodies), while Karen O proves she can do justice to Robert Plant's trademark banshee wail.

Expect the final score to have more of an orchestral bent, however. Reznor previously said the final product would be more performance-based. "We started recording things in a different way, that was all based on performance, nothing programmed," he said. "We process it in a way that gives it a really interesting, organic, layered feel. It felt like something we've never done before."

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo Trailer:

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA