Smashing Pumpkins Reveal New Band Member

Billy Corgan and Nicole Fiorentino / Photo by Kristin Burns
William Goodman

Meet the newest addition to Billy Corgan's new version of Smashing Pumpkins: bassist Nicole Fiorentino, a veteran of bands like Veruca Salt, Spinerette, and Twilight Sleep.

Fiorentino replaces bassist Ginger Pooley -- who replaced Melissa Auf der Maur, who replaced D'Arcy Wretzky, the band's original low-ender. When SP announced Pooley's recent departure, Corgan said the band would seek a new bassist via auditions, the same way he found 20-year-old drummer Mike Byrne, who replaced founding sticksman Jimmy Chamberlin when he left last year.

A statement at SP's website explains that Light FM, another band she played in, performed alongside Corgan's band Backwards Clock Society at a Los Angeles benefit concert last year.

Fiorentino will join the Pumpkins on their upcoming world tour later this year in support of Teargarden by Kaleidyscope, Corgan's 44-track project, which will be rolled out in a series of EPs and online singles. To date, SP have released the lackluster acoustic ditty "A Stitch in Time," the screeching rocker "Astral Planes," the classic rock epic "A Song for A Son," and the funky, psychedelic "Widow Wake My Mind."

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA