Hear Jonny Greenwood Backed by Wordless Music Orchestra

Radiohead guitarist's Big Ears Fest set includes selection from 'There Will Be Blood' score

Jonny Greenwood Radiohead Live Solo Songs
Photo by Marc Grimwade/Getty Images
Dan Reilly

Last week, the Big Ears Festival in Knoxville, Tennessee, hosted an eclectic, experimentally rich lineup that included Television, John Cale, Steve Reich, and Jonny Greenwood, among others. The Radiohead guitarist collaborated with the Wordless Music Orchestra for a set that featured both his solo works and his scoring achievements — from Paul Thomas Anderson films The Master and There Will Be Blood, and Japanese movie Norwegian Wood.

According to Stereogum, one surreptitious fan recorded a few songs from the set, including the recently debuted "Loop," "Self Portrait With Seven Fingers," and "Detuned Septet." During the festival, Greenwood also spoke to Nashville Cream about his main group's next move, saying, "We're meeting up at the end of the summer, and we'll make a plan. But, you know, we're a slow-moving animal, always have been. I guess we'll decide then what we do next."

Stream the chilling, complex instrumentals below, and stay tuned for Greenwood's next film score for Anderson's dark-comedy/mystery Inherent Vice, with Joaquin Phoenix leading the all-star cast.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 3 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 4 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 5 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 6 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57
  • 7 Blood Orange — Delancey " 02:15

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA