Depeche Mode Announce New Album

Depeche Mode
Larry Fitzmaurice

After a vague reference regarding its release, the Brit boys in Depeche Mode have confirmed that Sounds Of The Universe, their twelfth studio album and follow-up to 2005's Playing The Angel, will arrive April 21 via Capitol.

Recorded in Santa Barbara, CA, and New York City, Sounds Of The Universe sees band members Martin Gore and Dave Gahan return to vintage synthesizers and drum machines after utilizing digital music technology on their past few albums, notably 2001's Exciter.

The new record also reunites the Mode with Angel producer Ben Hiller (Elbow, Blur, Doves).A full tracklisting for the album has yet to be announced, but a statement confirms its first single will be "Wrong." Other song titles include "Jezebel," "In Chains," and "Hole to Feed."

More Depeche Mode:
>> Depeche Mode Prep New Album
>> Album News: Depeche Mode, the National, and More
>> Wilma Rains on Depeche Mode

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA