Cut Copy Announce New Album With Dance-Punk Popper 'Explorers'

Aussie synth wizards to bless the world with more cowbell

Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

Cut Copy have kept relatively quiet since releasing 2011's pop-attuned Zonoscope, but the Aussie dance-punk posse played a few dates Stateside last week and wound up sharing a new song. Seen above, "Explorer" was recorded in Charlottesville, Virginia on June 6 and seems to bridge the group's more recent radio flirtations to their body-music background. Thick synth blast and four-four pulse powers the thing, while upbeat melodies and cowbell sweeten the deal. Dan Whitford's New Wavy croon inspires at least one disco whoop from the crowd, and that ripping timbale solo doesn't hurt. The quartet just reissued their 2004 debut album Bright Like Neon Love on vinyl in the April 20 spate of Record Store Day releases. Stay tuned for more info on their fourth long-player.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA