Coldplay Slate New EP, Discuss Next Album

Coldplay / Photo by Tom Sheehan
William Goodman

As if this summer's chart-topping success Viva La Vida and its supporting tour weren't enough, Brit mainstay and SPIN cover subject Coldplay have unveiled details for a forthcoming EP and hinted at their next full-length record.

According to frontman Chris Martin, who stopped by BBC Radio's 6 Music to chat with host Steve Lamacq and R.E.M. singer Michael Stipe [via Pitchfork], an EP composed of Vida scraps -- including "Luna," a Kylie Minogue collaboration -- will arrive before year's end and a new full-length is on the horizon. "We're going to put an EP out at Christmas called Prospects March, and we're going to release an album next December," said Martin. Hooray!

But wait: "Is it [the EP] called Prospects Songs or Prospects March?" Martin questioned drummer Will Champion. Stipe's preference? Prospects March. Done and done.

Catch Coldplay this fall, when the quartet return for the second leg of their U.S. tour. Check out the complete dates here.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA