Braids Get Pizza From Creepy Boy on Atmospheric 'Hossak'

'Flourish // Perish' on the way via Arbutus/Full Time Hobby/Flemish Eye

braids, hossak, flourish, perish, album
Braids' "Hossak"
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

Best New Artist stars Braids have already shared two songs from their upcoming sophomore album, Flourish // Perish. First came the elliptical "Amends," then the slow-to-blossom "In Kind." Now, with the LP's August 20 release date fast on the approach, the Montreal art-pop outfit have shared another new track, an electro-lullaby called "Hossak." Singer Raphaelle Standell-Preston illustrates a mundane-enough scene — a boy knocking on her window, offering a slice of pizza — but the quivering snare drum and "Kid A" atmospherics lend an air of menace to the young man's proposition. Stream the tune below, and pre-order Braids' latest full-length through the band's website.


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA