Skip to content

Duran Duran Announces New Album, ‘Danse Macabre’

Oct. 27 release sports three new songs, some reimagined rarities, and a handful of covers
Duran Duran
Duran Duran (Credit: Jonas Akerlund)

Duran Duran announced that it will be releasing its 16th studio album, Danse Macabre, on Oct. 27 through Tape Modern/BMG. This is the Rock and Roll Hall of Famers’ second album in three years. In several statements, band members say the idea for the album originated last Halloween at a show in Las Vegas, which was highlighted by a number of rarities and covers.

Produced by Josh Blair and Mr. Hudson, Danse Macabre features 13 songs, including three new originals, reimagined Duran Duran rarities. and covers, including Billie Eilish’s “Bury A Friend,” Talking Heads’ “Psycho Killer,” and the Rolling Stones’ “Paint It Black.” Guests include Nile Rodgers, Victoria De Angelis of Måneskin, and former band members Andy Taylor and Warren Cuccurullo.

The title track is out now, and keyboardist Nick Rhodes says it “celebrates the joy and madness of Halloween. We had decided to seize the moment to create a unique, special event … the temptation of using glorious gothic visuals set to a dark soundtrack of horror and humor was simply irresistible.” Adds vocalist Simon Le Bon, “It’s about a crazy Halloween party. It’s supposed to be fun!” Simon Le Bon added.

Duran Duran is currently on tour with Nile Rodgers and Chic, concluding on Sept. 23 in Atlantic City, N.J.

Duran Duran Danse Macabre tracklisting:

Black Moonlight
Love Voudou
Bury A Friend
Danse Macabre
Secret Oktober 31st
Ghost Town
Paint It Black
Super Lonely Freak
Psycho Killer (feat. Victoria De Angelis)
Confession in the Afterlife