Skip to content

Neil Young Finally Releasing Shelved 1977 Album Chrome Dreams

Project is comprised of studio recordings from 1974-1977, many of which were later released in different versions
Neil Young
Neil Young in London, March 1976 (photo: Michael Putland / Getty Images)

Ahead of the launch of his first tour in four years tonight (June 30) in Los Angeles, Neil Young has revealed that his shelved but widely bootlegged 1977 album Chrome Dreams will finally receive a proper release on Aug. 11 through Reprise Records.

The songs that will comprise Chrome Dreams were recorded between 1974 and 1977. They include different versions of previously released songs like the original versions of “Powderfinger” and “Pocahontas” (without overdubs), which appeared on Rust Never Sleeps. Other original songs, like “Sedan Delivery” and “Hold Back the Tears,” were released later with different lyrics. A different version of “Stringman” was recently included on Young’s Archives II box set.

In 2007, Young released an album titled Chrome Dreams II featuring songs that went as far back as the early 1980s, but it did not include any originally written or recorded between 1974-77.

“The summer 2023 release as it is coming to life now is exactly how Young perceives it and has a sense of monumentality about it that conveys a place in history,” Reprise said of Chrome Dreams.

Neil Young Chrome Dreams Tracklisting and Original Recording Dates:

Pocahontas (August 11, 1976)
Will To Love (December 3, 1976
Star of Bethlehem (December 13, 1974
Like a Hurricane (November 29, 1975
Too Far Gone (September 5, 1975)
Hold Back the Tears (February 6, 1977)
Homegrown (November 19, 1975)
Captain Kennedy (August 11, 1976)
Stringman (March 31, 1976)
Sedan Delivery (May 22, 1975)
Powderfinger (August 11, 1976)
Look Out for My Love (January 20, 1976)