Skip to content

Tears For Fears Announce First Record in 17 Years, Release Title Track

'The Tipping Point' is out February 25, 2022

Tears For Fears announced their first album in 17 years, titled The Tipping Point, and released the video for its title track. The Tipping Point is out on February 25, 2022.

The British duo — Curt Smith and Roland Orzabal — cuts into the raw tipping points they, and recently the world, have faced over the last two decades. Orzabal co-wrote the track, diving into the grief he personally endured watching someone he loved die from a long-term disease.



Via Concord Records, the making of The Tipping Point brought conflict upon the duo. “Before everything went so right with this album, everything first had to go wrong, it took years, but something happens when we put our heads together,” Orzabal said in a statement. “We’ve got this balance, this push-me-pull-you thing – and it works really well.”

“Suddenly, for the first time in a long time, we felt like we had someone in our corner who understood what we were trying to do,” Orzabal continued. “We felt like we had somebody on our side. It was the first time in a long time that we decided – we have to do this.”

Tears For Fears’ previous record was 2004’s Everybody Loves A Happy Ending. Since then, the group has continued to tour, and earlier this month, the duo was honored with the Outstanding Song Collection Award at the 2021 Ivor Novello Awards.

Tears For Fears is one in a string of ‘80s musicians returning with new material. And they may lead others to do the same. For now, we can eagerly await the confirmed new sounds of Tears For Fears.

“When you’ve known each other as long as we have, and have worked together as long as we have, there’s a bond there that becomes familial. So, it’s different from a friendship,” Smith said. “And it’s different from a marriage. It’s literally like that’s your brother. It’s the kind of bond that you can’t really break. It can fall apart at times. You separate for periods, which I also think is healthy, really. But in the end, we always seem to find each other again.”

The Tipping Point Track List

1. No Small Thing
2. The Tipping Point
3. Long, Long, Long Time
4. Break The Man
5. My Demons
6. Rivers Of Mercy
7. Please Be Happy
8. Master Plan
9. End Of Night
10. Stay

Additional Tracks on the Deluxe CD Edition

11. Let It All Evolve
12. Secret Location
13. Shame (Cry Heaven)