Skip to content
New Music

Silver Jews’ David Berman Releases First New Music in 11 Years as Purple Mountains

David Berman is back, a deca after the disbanding of his band Silver Jews. (Bob Nastanovich did not lie!) The singer and songwriter has just released a surprise 12″ under the moniker Purple Mountains (also the name of Berman’s highly entertaining blog). The twist: the single is only available as a physical release. It’s not even being made available online, for the time being; fans will have to purchase it in a record store.

The release includes a new song called “All My Happiness Is Gone,” which is an encouraging name for a new David Berman song. The B-side features two remixes of the song, one by Mark Nevers featuring Dave Cloud and another by Noah Count. “All My Happiness Is Gone” features a band consisting of members of Woods—Jeremy Earl, Jarvis Taveniere, Aaron Neveu, Kyle Forester—and singer-songwriter Anna St. Louis.

A statement accompanying the release of the 12″ also explains that the 12″ is a precursor to the release of a full album from the band, which is due in “a couple months”:

Introducing Purple Mountains! David Berman’s first post-Silver Jews music is ready to go (and it only took him ten years!). “All My Happiness Is Gone” is the debut 12″ single from Purple Mountains, featuring David at the height of his powers. Let’s stop the world together, shall we? Then check out the remixes. The full album is still a couple months away; until then.

Find the “All My Happiness Is Gone” 12″ today in a record store near you.

UPDATE 5/13: Anyone who can’t make it to an actual brick and mortar record store can hear “All My Happiness Is Gone” on an archived episode of Merge Records employee Cecile Duncan’s WHUP radio show Downhill Swing. The song appears at the 53:50 mark of the show’s second hour. The episode will be streaming on the station’s site until May 26.