Skip to content

Kyp Malone Dilates Young Magic’s ‘Default Memory’

Brooklyn’s experimental pop duo Young Magic made their return last week with another installment of their lush and dreamy stylings. The ten-track record, Still Life, released through Carpark Records, is the follow-up to their sophomore full-length, 2014’s Breathing Statues. Among the soundscapes emerges “Default Memory,” a three-and-a-half-minute gem that singer Melati Malay explains was “written as a dedication to the ones I love, both living and passed.”

Now, TV on the Radio’s Kyp Malone puts his own imaginative, deeply felt spin on the track, offering an extended edit entitled “Kyp Malone’s Rain Machine Remix.” Malone — who shares an upstate NY home with Malay and Isaac Emmanuel of Young Magic — expands the track to a full eight minutes, filling the abyss with scintillating textures. The multi-instrumentalist takes his time playing with distance and echoes, inspiring shivers throughout.

“I love the original version of this song so it was easy for me to jump in,” Malone explains to SPIN. “I used my Korg Electribe sampler and Korg Volca FM, Korg gadget off my phone, djay 2 app off my phone. Did it in Logic.” Listen to Malone’s remix below and the enchanting original version of “Default Memory” here.