Skip to content

Listen to ‘Atomic Number,’ the First Song From Supergroup case/lang/veirs

Singer/songwriters Neko Case, k.d. lang, and Laura Veirs have announced a new collaborative album, appropriately titled case/lang/veirs, and they’ve also shared its first song, “Atomic Number.”

According to a press release, lang emailed the other two musicians “on a whim” with an idea for a collaboration. The resulting album was recorded at lang’s and Veirs’ homes, both in Portland, Oregon.

Lang hasn’t released an album since 2011’s Sing It Loud with the Siss Boom Bang. Case’s last album was The Worse Things Get, The Harder I Fight, The Harder I Fight, The More I Love You, released in 2013. Veirs’ most recent album, 2013’s Warp and Weft, included contributions from both lang and Case. Case and Veirs have also recorded and toured together in the past.

The trio share vocals on “Atomic Number,” the album’s folksy opening cut. “I’m not the freckled man / I’m not the fair-haired girl / I’m not a pan of milk for you to spoil,” the women sing, building off one another’s voices before joining in harmony for the chorus.

case/lang/veirs is out June 17 from Anti- Records. Hear “Atomic Number” and see the full track listing below:

case/lang/veirs tracklist:

1. “Atomic Number”
2. “Honey and Smoke”
3. “Song for Judee”
4. “Blue Fires”
5. “Delirium”
6. “Greens of June”
7. “Behind the Armory”
8. “Best Kept Secret”
9. “1,000 Miles Away”
10. “Supermoon”
11. “I Want to Be Here”
12. “Down I-5”
13. “Why Do We Fight”
14. “Georgia Stars”

Correction: A previous version of this story incorrectly gave the title of k.d. lang’s 2011 album as the title of Laura Veirs’ 2013 album. Veirs’ album is Warp and Weft, not Sing It Loud.