Skip to content

Hear Lauryn Hill’s Bluesy Cover of Nina Simone’s ‘Feeling Good’

<> at City Winery on March 25, 2015 in New York City.

The elusive Ms. Lauryn Hill has offered six contributions to RCA’s upcoming Nina Simone tribute album, Nina Revisited: A Tribute To Nina Simone, which comes in conjunction with Netflix’s forthcoming documentary What Happened, Miss Simone? Among Hill’s offerings to the record is a cover of “Feeling Good,” which you can hear now via Rolling Stone, who reports that the former Fugee was originally supposed to record only two songs for the record. “Because I fed on this music, both hers and lovers like her, like my basic food, I believed I always had a right to have a voice,” Hill said in a statement. “Her example is clearly a form of sustenance to a generation needing to find theirs. What a gift.”

Other guests will include names like Mary J. Blige, Common, Usher, Gregory Porter, Jazmine Sullivan, and Nina Simone’s daughter, Lisa Simone. Listen to “Feeling Good,” grab Nina Revisited on July 10, and catch What Happened, Miss Simone? on Netflix on June 26.

Nina Revisited: A Tribute to Nina Simone track list:

1. Lisa Simone: “Nobody’s Fault but Mine (Intro)”
2. Ms. Lauryn Hill: “Feeling Good”
3. Ms. Lauryn Hill: “I’ve Got Life”
4. Ms. Lauryn Hill: “Ne Me Quitte Pas”
5. Jazmine Sullivan: “Baltimore”
6. Grace: “Love Me or Leave Me”
7. Usher: “My Baby Just Cares For Me”
8. Mary J. Blige: “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood”
9. Gregory Porter: “Sinnerman”
10. Common & Lalah Hathaway: “YG&B”
11. Alice Smith: “I Put a Spell On You”
12. Lisa Simone: “I Want a Little Sugar in My Bowl”
13. Ms. Lauryn Hill: “Black Is the Color of My True Love’s Hair”
14. Ms. Lauryn Hill: “Wild Is the Wind”
15. Ms. Lauryn Hill: “African Mailman”
16. Nina Simone: “I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free”