News \

Beck Streams ‘Morning Phase,’ His Mellow, Gold Sequel to ‘Sea Change’

Hansen's 12th studio album arrives February 25 on Capitol Records

Yes, it feels a little like déjà vu. From its opening chord progressions, Beck’s 12th studio album Morning Phase so closely echoes Sea Change opener “A Golden Age,” it’s normal to think for a moment that you’ve slipped back a dozen years to 2002. But that LP was so beloved — with its warm washes of orchestral swell and jewel-toned guitarwork — that the familiarity is welcome, like a reunion with a close friend lost over time and not by intention.

Get reacquainted with the artist by streaming Morning Phase now over at NPR. One of SPIN’s 50 Albums You Gotta Hear, Morning Phase is due out February 25 on Capitol Records.

Beck, Morning Phase track list:

1. “Morning”
2. “Heart Is A Drum”
3. “Say Goodbye”
4. “Waking Light”
5. “Unforgiven”
6. “Wave”
7. “Don’t Let It Go”
8. “Blackbird Chain”
9. “Evil Things”
10. “Blue Moon”
11. “Turn Away”
12. “Country Down”

Tags: Beck, Music News