Skip to content

Death Vessel and Sigur Ros’ Jonsi Team for Graceful ‘Ilsa Drown’

Death Vessel Jonsi Isla Drown Stream Island

On February 25, the inimitable Death Vessel will bring an unofficial six-year recording hiatus to and end with Island Intervals, an eight-song set that finds the Rhode Island-based folkist recording Reykjavík, Iceland with help from a few familiar locals. On first taste “Ilsa Drown,” Sigur Rós singer Jónsi joins, and the pair are a perfect fit. Their high voices glide over the gentle instrumentation, which picks up steam as the song pushes on. The Kveiker-maker also co-wrote that particular song, but his countryman and bandmate Alex Somers producers the entire album, which includes appearances from Pete Donnelly (the Figgs, NRBQ), Samuli Kosminen (Múm), and Thorvaldur “Doddi” Thorvaldsson. 

Death Vessel, Island Intervals track list:

1. “Ejecta”
2. “Velvet Antlers”
3. “Triangulated Heart”
4. “Mercury Dime”
5. “Ilsa Drown”
6. “Island Vapors”
7. “We Agreed”
8. “Loom”