Skip to content

Smith Westerns Preview ‘Soft Will’ LP With Anthemic ‘Varsity’

Smith Westerns

Smith Westerns have progressed at a furious pace. The Chicago band’s rough-hewn, garage-glam 2010 debut gave way to 2011’s assured, dreamy Dye It Blonde, produced by Chris Coady (Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Beach House); SPIN called them Next Big Things. As Pitchfork reports, on June 11, they’ll release follow-up Soft Will via new label home Mom + Pop, again with production by Coady; listen to thrumming, U2-tinged anthem “Varsity” below. The band is already set to play the two weekends of Coachella, with a show at Los Angeles venue the Echo in between.

Soft Will track list:

1. “3am Spiritual”
2. “Idol”
3. “Glossed”
4. “XXIII”
5. “Fool Proof”
6. “White Oath”
7. “Only Natural”
8. “Best Friend”
9. “Cheer Up”
10. “Varsity” 

Smith Westerns tour dates:

April 14 – Indio, CA @ Coachella
April 16 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
April 21 – Indio, CA @ Coachella