Skip to content

Hear Devendra Banhart’s Zombies-Bitten ‘Never Seen Such Good Things’

devendra banhart, never seen such good things

Devendra Banhart will return with his eighth studio album, Mala, on March 12 (out through Nonesuch), and in anticipation of the folk-gypsy’s follow-up to 2009’s What Will We Be, the NME has shared “Never Seen Such Good Things,” a Zombies-inflected daydream featured on the upcoming LP. “If we ever make sweet love again / I’m sure that it will be quite disgusting / Race to the end,” Banhart sings, before his voice drifts alongside rippling guitar, muted tom-toms, and watery synth effects. “Never Seen” rides closer to the Venezuela-reared singer-songwriter’s comfort zone than Mala‘s previous sample, the brooding, electro-spliced “Für Hildegard von Bingen.”

CD and vinyl pre-orders of Mala are currently available and come with a limited-edition autographed print, an instant download of “Für Hildegard von Bingen,” and a digital copy of the LP when it drops. The vinyl version also comes with a CD copy of the record, an exclusive poster, and an additional 7-inch with two bonus tracks. Check out the album’s full track list below.

Mala track list:

1. “Golden Girls”
2. “Daniel”
3. “Für Hildegard von Bingen”
4. “Never Seen Such Good Things”
5. “Mi Negrita”
6. “Your Fine Petting Duck”
7. “The Ballad of Keenan Milton”
8. “A Gain”
9. “Won’t You Come Over?”
10. “Cristobal Risquez”
11. “Hatchet Wound”
12. “Mala”
13. “Won’t You Come Home”
14. “Taurobolium”
15. “Something French” (LP-exclusive bonus track)
16. “Loring Baker” (LP-exclusive bonus track)