News \

Killing Joke Find Frontman In Time to Announce ‘Dub’ Album With Nine Inch Nails Remix

Jaz Coleman reappears as mysteriously as he vanished

Industro-rock pioneers Killing Joke reported their frontman, vocalist-keyboardist Jeremy “Jaz” Coleman, had gone missing late last month after announcing a September tour with the Cult and goth O.G.s Mission U.K. that Coleman apparently wasn’t happy about — he published some nasty comments on Killing Joke’s Facebook page and went off the grid. At the time, Coleman’s bandmates posted, “We are all concerned about our missing singer’s welfare.”

Now, as Slicing Up Eyeballs reports, Coleman has been found alive and well and doing some fairly unusual things. Yesterday, the group’s Facebook page announced (somewhat breezily) that Coleman “appeared today from his retreat in the Western Sahara bemused by all the fuss of his disappearance. ‘I’ve been finishing my book and writing the score for my new project — (The Nirvana Symphonic) — (laughs), what’s all the fuss about then?'” Credit for the quotation marks, parentheticals and even “laughs” all go to the page’s administrator.

Apparently, the frontman decided he’d rather not be hassled with committed tour dates so he could work on personal projects. The page even says that Coleman will be issuing the book packaged with “an exclusive Coleman album” as early as next week.

Then there’s the matter of those upcoming tour dates, which, again, the Facebook page kind of brushes off. “Mystery still surrounds the message on Facebook regarding the Cult and the Mission shows of which Coleman claims no knowledge,” it says. “‘Looks like this has caused a right ding dong and [we] feel it’s impossible to continue this tour under the circumstances.’ His comments were to wish both the Cult and the Mission the best of luck on the tour, and to find out who has been impersonating him.”

Coleman’s return wasn’t the only big news the group had yesterday, though. Just prior to announcing he’d been located, Killing Joke posted that a new project, KJ in Dub, which pretty much is what it sounds like, will be available this week. The band had been promising a dub release for decades and now, apparently with nothing to do when they weren’t searching high and low for Coleman, they were able to compile three volumes of dub versions and remixes. The compilation includes a take on the title cut of their 1996 album Democracy by Nine Inch Nails and a couple by the Orb. Check out the full track listing, including many dub attributions to Killing Joke bassist Martin “Youth” Glover, below.

The whole experience has not been without its casualties, though. Killing Joke had hoped to film a London date in early September, but canceled it a half an hour before announcing Coleman’s return. “Money will be returned in full straight away,” the post said. But who will pay for the Sahara sojourn?

KJ in Dub Track List:
1. “This World Hell” – Youth Dub Mix
2. “Money Is Not Our God” – Youth Dub Mix
3. “Love Like Blood” – Youth Dub Mix
4. “European Superdub” – Youth Dub Mix
5. “Ghosts of Ladbroke Grove” – Clive Goddard Dub Mix
6. “Depth Charge “- Youth Dub Mix
7. “A Sixth Sun” – Youth Dub Mix
8. “Pole Shift” – Geordie & Clive Goddard Mix
9. “Tomorrow’s World” – Youth Dub Mix
10. “The Raven King” – Youth Dub Mix
11. “ESS” – Orb VS Youth Mix
12. “Absolute Dissent” – Geordie & Clive Goddard Dub Mix
13. “Corporate Elect” – Youth Dub Mix

KJ in Dub (Dancehall) Track List
1. “Change” – Spiral Tribe Mix
2. “In Cytheria” – Bloody Beetroots Remix
3. “Seeing Red” – Jagz Kooner Remix
4. “Democracy” – Nine Inch Nails Remix
5. “ESS” – Youth Remix
6. “Savage Freedom” – UX Remix
7. “Whiteout” – (The Intellect Is Ugly) Mandra Gora Remix
8. “Love Like Blood” – Deedrah Remix
9. “In Cytheria” – Banda Remix
10. “ESS” – J.Zoomba Industrial Mix
11. “Jana” – Hallucinogen Remix
12. “Stations of the Sun” – Hallucinogen Remix
13. “Pandemonium” – Man With No Name Remix