Skip to content

LISTEN: First Solo Song from Killers’ Vannucci


While Brandon Flowers has been largely credited with the Killers’ infectious rock melodies and hooks, it now appears that the band’s secret weapon was sitting behind the drum kit.

Ronnie Vannucci, sticksman for the Las Vegas rock quartet, just released “Getaways,” the first single from his new side-project Big Talk — and it’s an anthemic electro-rock jam with glistening synths and an upbeat, fun ’80s feel, but in a way catchier (and better) way than anything from Flowers’ tepid solo debut, Flamingo.

The self-titled debut from Big Talk, out July 12 via Epitaph, was recorded in Vegas with producer Joe Chicarelli (the Strokes, My Morning Jacket) and mixed by Alan Moulder (U2, Foo Fighters). “I needed to do this,” Vannucci said recently. “And now, having done it, it feels like the right thing to do. It all feels very natural.”

The LP reunites Vannucci with Tayler Milne, his longtime friend and former bandmate in late-’90s indie outfit Expert On October, who collaborated in the studio on Big Talk. “All these really cool leads that you’ll hear on the songs are Taylor,” Vannucci said. According to a spokesperson, founding Weezer member Matt Sharp — who also fronts indie-pop project the Rentals — played bass on Big Talk.

Big Talk will hit the road this summer; complete dates are expected soon. Visit the Epitaph Records site for more details.

Ronnie Vannucci, “Getaways”

Big Talk tracklist:
1. “Katzenjammer”
2. “Getaways”
3. “Under Water”
4. “The Next One Living”
5. “Replica”
6. “No Whiskey”
7. “Girl At Sunrise”
8. “A Fine Time To Need Me”
9. “White Dove”
10. “Living In Pictures”
11. “Hunting Season”
12. “Big Eye”