Kyle McGovern



  • moby, almost home, innocents, lyric video

    Moby's Pet Adoption-Themed 'Almost Home' Video Will Destroy Your Heart

    For the last two days, Moby has been teasing the release of "the best music video ever made. Ever. In the history of ever. Ever." Now, the electronic visionary has unveiled said clip and, well, he wasn't really exaggerating. The lyric video for "Almost Home," a Damien Jurado-assisted highlight from Moby's Innocents LP, is basically just a four-minute advertisement for the Best Friends Animal Society adoption center.Filmed under a budget of "$0", the video features Moby — a noted vegan and animal-rights supporter — cuddling up to cats and dogs at a Best Friends shelter in Los Angeles, holding up pieces of paper that have the words to "Almost Home" printed on them.

  • adele, royal honors, buckingham palace

    Adele and PJ Harvey Given Medals by Prince Charles

    Adele and PJ Harvey have both been recognized by the British royal family with MBE awards, one of the highest honors a British subject can receive. As People reports, the singers were declared members of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire during a December 19 ceremony at Buckingham Palace. Prince Charles handed out the medals, which, in the cases of Ms. Adele Adkins and Ms.

  • aztec camera, high land, hard rain, reissue

    Aztec Camera Dust Off Rarities for 'High Land, Hard Rain' Reissue

    Aztec Camera's 1983 debut album High Land, Hard Rain turned 30 this year, and to celebrate, Domino Records is planning a special anniversary reissue. Due February 4 (which is technically closer to the record's 31st birthday than 30th, but whatever), the upcoming retrospective spans two discs and collects a host of rarities, B-sides, alternate mixes, and live tracks culled from various radio sessions.The Scottish New Wavers' first full-length will also be repackaged in vinyl format, complete with a download card for digital versions of the original album and the second disc of extra material. Pre-orders are currenly available through Domino.

  • ?uestlove, the roots, top chef, fried chicken

    See ?uestlove Put the Heat on 'Top Chef' Contestants

    The Roots' ?uestlove may no longer be the proprietor of a gourmet fried-chicken outpost in New York City, but that didn't stop the SPIN interview subject from lending his culinary acumen to Bravo's Top Chef on Wednesday night. The Late Night With Jimmy Fallon bandleader made a guest appearance on the cooking competition's December 18 episode to oversee a Quickfire challenge. Naturally, the cheftestants were tasked with preparing a plate of drumsticks. As of time of writing, the full broadcast hasn't been uploaded to Hulu, but a two-minute snippet is available for streaming.

  • kraftwerk, moogfest 2014

    Moogfest 2014 Lineup: Kraftwerk, Chic, Giorgio Moroder, Darkstar, and More

    Kraftwerk and Chic featuring Nile Rodgers will headline next year's Moogfest, which takes over a slew of venues across Asheville, North Carolina from April 23 through 27.

  • haim, jimmy kimmel live, days are gone

    Haim Turn in Another Typically Great Set on 'Kimmel'

    Haim closed out their star-making 2013 with a double-header on Jimmy Kimmel Live! Sisters Alana, Danielle, and Este graced the Sony Outdoor Stage on December 18 to burn through two crackling highlights from their Essential debut album, Days Are Gone. The SPIN cover queens performed bass-powered hot-rock "Forever" (which recently earned a vocoder-kissed remix from synth wizard Giorgio Moroder) and traded vocal duties on breakup chant "The Wire." Find the former above, the latter below, and revisit SPIN's year-end endorsements of Haim: The California trio placed prominently on our 50 Best Albums of 2013 and 50 Best Songs of 2013 lists.

  • angel haze, dirty gold, debut album, release date, leak

    Angel Haze's 'Dirty Gold' Rushed to Drop in 2013 After Self-Leak

    Angel Haze literally said "fuck you" to her label on Wednesday while she leaked her debut album months before its official March 3 release date. Now, Island Records has given in to the rapper's demands and bumped Dirty Gold's drop date up to December 30.Haze confirmed the scheduling change on December 18 on Twitter. In a series of tweets, the 22-year-old wrote: "Behind every rebel is a fucking reason. Just want to say thank you guys for your support today. Thanks to those who heard the album and fucked with it. Thanks to everyone who stood up for me. My labels didn't think that I would do it, but I did. It's hard to put at risk everything I've spent this year working on but I had to for both me and you guys. No one should ever be afforded the opportunity to fuck with your dreams. REGARDLESS OF WHO THEY ARE.

  • vampire weekend, modern vampires of the city

    Kyle McGovern's 25 Best Albums of 2013

    To finish out the year, we'll be offering the top 25 albums from various SPIN staffers. Today, Writer Kyle McGovern.And so ends my first full year as a staff writer at SPIN. The past 12 months have been a marathon, keeping pace with album leaks, performance videos, festival lineup reveals, fresh SoundCloud streams, scandals, court hearings, and Drake.Soundtracking my 2013 most often fell to the 25 albums listed below. Phoenix's effervescent Bankrupt! proved reliably refreshing, while Superchunk's mid-life declaration of I Hate Music continues to feel cathartic. The Arctic Monkeys finally charmed me with the 41-minute, drunk-dial voicemail that is their fifth album; Janelle Monáe sold me on her sci-fi fantasy with the time-traveling jukebox that is her second.

  • Tiësto, ultra music festival 2014, phase one lineup

    Ultra Music Festival 2014 Lineup: Tiesto, M.I.A, David Guetta, Cut Copy, and More

    Tiësto, David Guetta, M.I.A., Basement Jaxx, and Avicii are all headed to next year's Ultra Music Festival. Organizers for the annual electronic music event have revealed the first phase of the showcase's 2014 lineup. Aside from the aforementioned artists, the roster also features Diplo, Kaskade, Dillon Francis, Cut Copy, MGMT, Chase and Status, RiFF RaFF, Pusha T, Empire of the Sun, Waka Flocka Flame, 2ManyDJs, and Armin Van Buuren. Unlike last year's installment, the 16th edition of Ultra Fest takes place over a single weekend, from March 28 to 30. Once again, the Miami event will return to Bayfront Park. Three-day passes are currently available through the festival's official website — general admission will you you $399.95, plus service charges, tax (if you're in Florida), and other fees.

  • shit robot, we got a love, dfa records

    Shit Robot Proclaims 'We Got a Love' With Star-Studded 2014 Album

    Shit Robot, a.k.a. DJ and producer Marcus Lambkin, will return in 2014 with his second full-length album. Out on March 18, the upcoming record is called We Got a Love and features a star-studded guest list. Contributors include comedian/musician Reggie Watts (who appears on the title track and opening song "The Secret"), the Rapture's Luke Jenner, LCD Soundsystem alumna Nancy Whang, Museum of Love, house hero Lidell Townsell, and Australian singer Holly Backler.Recorded in Germany and New York, We Got a Love the follow-up to 2010's From the Cradle to the Rave clocks in at nine tracks total. DFA Records will handle the U.S. release, while [PIAS] will take care of the U.K."It wasn't as tricky as I thought it was going to be," Lambkin says of the recording process.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 J Dilla — Give Em What They Want " 02:45
  • 2 Low Leaf — Set Me Free " 02:13
  • 3 Doe Paoro — Nobody " 03:05
  • 4 Chromeo with Ezra Koenig — Ezra's Interlude " 01:55
  • 5 The Julie Ruin — Brightside " 03:04
  • 6 Mirel Wagner — What Love Looks Like " 03:07
  • 7 Amen Dunes — I Can't Dig It " 04:53

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA