Kyle McGovern



  • Golden Suits

    Hear Golden Suits' Glorious, Woodsy 'Didn't I Warn You'

    As one-half of Department of Eagles, Fred Nicolaus has embarked on psych-folk explorations with songwriting partner/former NYU roommate/Grizzly Bear member Daniel Rossen. But now Nicolaus is unveiling his own project, Golden Suits. This new venture's self-titled debut album will arrive on August 20, including "Didn't I Warn You," a slightly baroque, outdoorsy winner that blossoms from campfire verses to morning call choruses. Bask in its glory down below.

  • four tet, tori amos

    Stream Four Tet's 'Unspoken,' Now With 100 Percent More Tori Amos

    Four Tet's 2003 folktronica masterpiece, Rounds, is getting a 10th anniversary reissue from Domino today (May 14), but Kieran Hebden decided to mark the occasion with his own special early-aughts re-release. On Monday (May 13), the U.K. DJ offered the original version of "Unspoken" on Twitter. The track had been reworked for the album because Hebden couldn't get the okay to sample Tori Amos' "Winter.""I had to change the track Unspoken for Rounds because a sample couldn't get cleared," Hebden tweeted. "Here's the original version... it was the first track track I made for the album... this version is about 12 years old...

  • baroness, tour

    Watch Baroness' New Members Rehearse for Extended Tour

    Baroness recently announced their first American tour dates since their traumatic bus accident in August 2012, along with the addition of drummer Sebastian Thomson (of Trans Am) and bassist Nick Jost. Now the Yellow & Green champions have added a slew of shows to their tour itinerary and have also shared footage of their first rehearsal with Thomson and Jost. In it, frontman John Dyer Baizley and guitarist Peter Adams talk passionately about their desire to resume touring. "Getting back out on tour and doing what we do is really what I want and what I need," Baizley says. "That's the rehab. Physical therapy is one thing, and getting functional is another thing, but...

  • when saints go machine, iodine

    Stream When Saints Go Machine's Black-and-Blue 'Iodine'

    Danish electro-poppers When Saints Go Machine scored their own little blockbuster with "Love and Respect," the menacing lead single off the band's upcoming album, Infinity Pool. Now the Copenhagen foursome have shared a second track from their follow-up to 2011's Konkylie, "Iodine." Like "Love and Respect," "Iodine" blends soulful, warped vocals with an off-kilter, cinematic groove, but unlike its predecessor, "Iodine" sounds like a wounded plea, not a knuckle-cracking threat. On this one, When Saints Go Machine aren't doling out the bruises; they're recovering from them.

  • black flag,

    Hear Black Flag's Relentless (New) New Song 'The Chase'

    And the pissing contest between the two rival Black Flag reunions continues.Earlier today (May 13), FLAG — the Black Flag offshoot that consists of original BF vocalist Keith Morris, guitarist-singer Dez Cadena, bassist Chuck Dukowski, drummer Bill Stevenson, and Descendents guitarist Stephen Egerton — announced an upcoming North American tour.

  • yeah yeah yeahs, fyf fest

    Yeah Yeah Yeahs, My Bloody Valentine, TV on the Radio, MGMT Top FYF Fest 2013 Lineup

    My Bloody Valentine, SPIN cover stars the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, TV on the Radio, MGMT, Beach House, and FLAG are all set to light up the stage at this year's FYF Fest.

  • Big Eyes

    Stream Big Eyes' Big-Hearted 'Almost Famous' LP

    Big Eyes nailed it when they titled their upcoming sophomore LP Almost Famous. Fresh-faced status aside, the Seattle trio's power-pop muscle and hooky melodies channel the glorious, pre-cynicism wonder of teenaged music fandom, and by proxy, the wide-eyed naivete of a certain Cameron Crowe flick. Singer-guitarist Kate Eldridge, bassist Chris Costalupes, and drummer Dillan Lazzareschi owe an audible debt to a slew of large-hearted guitar outfits, the Ramones and Cheap Trick certainly included. Stream the entire 11-track collection down below. Almost Famous arrives on May 14, courtesy of Grave Mistake Records.113477:playlist:Big Eyes, Almost Famous:

  • 'Any Port In A Storm' Cover Art

    Stream Scott & Charlene's Wedding's Slacker Sing-Along 'Fakin' NYC'

    Scott & Charlene's Wedding already issued one lo-fi love letter packed with New York references this year (see "Two Weeks," from the EP of the same name), and now Melbourne-raised, NYC-based singer and songwriter Craig Dermody has dropped another. "Fakin' NYC" captures the feeling that comes with moving to a new city and celebrates it with a sing-along slacker anthem that proves Dermody is more than a little familiar with Pavement. "I tell everyone I'm fine," Dermody sings, before admitting, "I'll let you in on a secret of mine / I don't know what I'm doing any of the time." Thankfully, the track has found a permanent home on Scott & Charlene's Wedding's upcoming full-length, Any Port In a Storm, due July 22 via Fire Records.Scott & Charlene's Wedding tour dates:June 29 - Glastonbury, U.K. @ Glastonbury FestivalJune 30 - London, U.K.

  • flag, tour, black flag

    FLAG to Tour Black Flag Songs Across North America

    FLAG — the Black Flag reunion that features original vocalist Keith Morris, guitarist-singer Dez Cadena, bassist Chuck Dukowski, drummer Bill Stevenson, and Descendents guitarist Stephen Egerton — will bring their version of the Hermosa Beach hardcore band on the road later this year with a tour of North America.The five-piece have announced a total of 13 dates so far, starting with a May 27 appearance at the Punk Rock Bowling festival in Las Vegas, and ending with a show in Boston on September 20.

  • Statistics

    Hear Statistics' Har Mar Superstar-Assisted Groove 'Take the Lead'

    When Denver Dalley originally announced Peninsula, the first album credited to Dalley's Statistics solo project since 2005's Often Lie, a statement from the Desaparecidos guitarist's camp described the track "Take the Lead" as something that "could have easily been a single off of Justin Timberlake's Justified." Well, fans can now witness Dalley's best "Rock Your Body" moves by streaming "Take the Lead" down below. The Har Mar Superstar-assisted goofball-groove glistens with sparkling funk and even comes with a set of instructions: "Just clap your hands and move your feet... Put your trust in me / I got everything that you need."

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 J Dilla — Give Em What They Want " 02:45
  • 2 Low Leaf — Set Me Free " 02:13
  • 3 Doe Paoro — Nobody " 03:05
  • 4 Chromeo with Ezra Koenig — Ezra's Interlude " 01:55
  • 5 The Julie Ruin — Brightside " 03:04
  • 6 Mirel Wagner — What Love Looks Like " 03:07
  • 7 Amen Dunes — I Can't Dig It " 04:53

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA