David Bevan


Manhattan, NY

  • Mikael Jorgensen

    Hear Greg O'Keeffe and Wilco's Mikael Jorgensen's Fizzy 'ARMZ'

    Wilco pianist/keyboardist Mikael Jorgensen and his longtime collaborator/drummer Greg O'Keeffe are currently prepping the release of Bunny Hate Wolf, an album of synth-driven odysseys that were originally recorded with more "conventional instrumentation" in Brooklyn in the spring of 2010. Feeling frustrated and fenced in by what he was hearing, Jorgensen decided to re-record and re-imagine those songs using analog synths and software. The result can be heard in the fizzy first single "ARMZ," due on 7" vinyl via Odessa Records on October 30. It's streaming exclusively here:

  • See How Santigold's 'The Keepers' Clip Was Made

    See How Santigold's 'The Keepers' Clip Was Made

    This spring, SPIN caught iPad cover star Santi "Santigold" White at an interesting moment: the minute she realized thieves had stripped her black Escalade of some chrome right outside her home in Bed Stuy, a grittier portion of north central Brooklyn. Ostensibly, it's a place far, far away from the dinner table the Philly-bred, Brooklyn-bound pop dynamo chose as the central setting for her recent and self-directed clip for "The Keepers," a barbed and haunting highlight from this year's SPIN Essential'd master stroke Master of My Make-Believe. Below, check out a lively snippet of behind-the-scenes footage captured during filming, replete with interviews with White and her fellow actors, including young Wyeth Frenay, who points out that not only was most of the radioactive food laid out on said dinner table "questionable," but "the chicken had boobs" as well. Enjoy:

  • John Maus, 'A Collection of Rarities and Previously Unreleased Material' (Ribbon)

    MIDI madman digs in attic, finds haunted pop as good as his 2011 LP.

  • Tame Impala / Photo by Matthew C. Seville

    Hear Tame Impala's Feverish Cover of Fleetwood Mac's 'That's All For Everyone'

    It's no secret current SPIN cover costar Bethany Cosentino is a huge Fleetwood Mac fan, a fact she easily confirmed by providing us with a jouncy take on "Rhiannon." She covered the classic as part of the forthcoming Mac tribute compilation, Tell Me That You Want Me, due August 14 (Hear Music/Concord). Cosentino's approach was a departure from the original as well as a break from the carefully sanded pop for which she's now known — one could hear only traces of Stevie Nicks or Best Coast in the mix. This is not at all the case in Tame Impala's rendition of "That's All For Everyone," a fever dream from 1979's Tusk that's been made even more feverish for the comp. Here, the Aussie psych-rock outfit swap acoustic guitar for melting synths and send Lindsey Buckingham's tune through a battery of effects. Echoes abound but it's a cover that's faithful in both directions.

  • Angel Haze / Photo by Adrienne Nicole

    Hear Angel Haze's Fiery 'Reservation' EP

    Tomorrow, nascent New York rapper Angel Haze will uncage her Reservation EP, a scathing, heart-braising release whose title makes reference to her Native American heritage. Hear how successfully she realizes the potential she demonstrated on last year's Alter Ego tape: Stream the EP — which also features contributions from Nicole Wray and Kool A.D. of Das Racist — in its fiery entirety here:

  • Gaytheist / Photo by Darren Higgins

    Listen to Gaytheist's Fire-Breathing 'I'm Procrastinate and I Vote'

    "I'm Procrastinate and I Vote," a curious and furious highlight from (unfortunately named) Portland punk outfit Gaytheist's forthcoming Stealth Beats LP is just one minute and 12 seconds long. That's all the Portland trio need, combining the howl of the Jesus Lizard with the pop-leaning mania of Torche to thrilling effect. Hear it (over and over again):

  • Watch Damien Jurado's Gorgeous 'Museum of Flight' Clip

    Watch Damien Jurado's Gorgeous 'Museum of Flight' Clip

    During Damien Jurado's recent five-week jaunt through Europe, Seattle-based filmmaker Tyler Kalberg took on a few roles at once, assuming the responsibilities of driver, tour manager, and documentarian. Below, his beautifully shot account of Jurado and band's time abroad provides a perfect visual compliment to "Museum of Flight," a typically (and deliciously) understated moment from the singer-songwriter's most recent full-length, Maraqopa, out now on Secretly Canadian.

  • Purity Ring / Photo by Vinna Laudico

    Purity Ring: Electro-Pop Duo Take Artisanal Art to Next Level

    Who: Purity Ring are Megan James, 24, and Corin Roddick, 21, two natives of Canada's prairies who craft their forward-thinking electro-pop across a long distance — Roddick from his home in Montreal and James from Halifax, Nova Scotia. "I saw Megan for the first time playing piano and singing at a local show in Edmonton," recalls Roddick, formerly the drummer for Canadian post-rock goofs Gobble Gobble. "We didn't actually meet for another half year or something, but upon meeting, we talked about working together. We didn't really know how we were going to do it and didn't suspect we'd be making electronic music at all.

  • Holograms, 'Holograms' (Captured Tracks)

    Swedish punks' debut is splash of cold, dirty water on your face, all fleet-footed rhythms, white-knuckle angles.

  • Watch Erika Spring of Au Revoir Simone's Spacious 'Hidden' Clip

    Watch Erika Spring of Au Revoir Simone's Spacious 'Hidden' Clip

    With her David Lynch-approved outfit currently between records and coming off something of a break (they return to studio this month, actually), Au Revoir Simone siren Erika Forster has been writing and recording and keeping us close as Erika Spring. Last year brought the single "6 More Weeks" and this week brings her excellent, self-titled debut on Cascine, an EP of assertive, sinewy synth-pop that includes "Hidden," a highlight whose loft-based, Celia Rowlson-Hall-directed clip is waiting below.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA