David Bevan


Manhattan, NY

  • Taking Back Sunday, 'New Again' (Warner Bros.)

    Three years and one new guitarist later, the princes of emo return with a fourth full-length that focuses on roaring arenas as much as on two-timing lovers. Frontman Adam Lazzara's temper tantrums sound more sore- than full-throated, but they still freeze blood for short stretches, while the revolving choruses are as enormous and polished as Boeings, particularly on back-to-school lament "Summer Man" and the Edge-saluting "Where My Mouth Is." But too often, the recycled hard-rock riffage ("Capital M-E") and requisite melodrama ("Everything Must Go") feel brittle and toothless. BUY: iTunesAmazon

  • Kasabian, 'West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum' (RCA)

    Teaming up with Gorillaz producer Dan "the Automator" Nakamura to hammer out their third album, these glammy Brit yobs try to revise the churning, sweatin'-to-the-'90s club beats that propelled their star-making (in the U.K.) 2004 debut. Twitchy, action-movie atmospherics still galvanize the thrust of "Fast Fuse" and lead single "Vlad theImpaler." But between the groovier tracks, the album rarely keeps its feet or focus for long, getting lost in mazes of mangy Stones riffs or acoustic roundabouts with little purpose or pulse. BUY: iTunesiTunes

  • Au Revoir Simone, 'Still Night, Still Light' (Our Secret Record Company)

    On their second full-length, this Brooklyn trio returns with more synth-pop secrets fit to be whispered on the moon. Opener "Another Likely Story" sets the mood, dovetailing chilly lunar textures with hushed vocal harmonies to often nap-worthy effect. But the spiraling keyboard dynamics and crescendo that lead to the summit of "Only You Can Make You Happy" evoke a beauty equaled elsewhere by "Anywhere You Looked," a simple drum-machine jaunt with a melody so insinuating that its hook rivals the Postal Service's sharpest. Listen: Au Revoir Simone, "Still Night, Still Light"BUY: iTunesAmazon

  • Those Dancing Days, 'In Our Space Hero Suits' (Wichita)

    Those Dancing Days may have swiped their name from a Led Zeppelin staple, but that's about it. Rather than reheat Jimmy Page riffs, the young, all-female Stockholm quintet raids the sonic closets of the Smiths and '60s girl groups instead. Alongside the preternaturally mature croon of Linnea Jönsson, those threads fit seamlessly: On the single "Home Sweet Home," Colgate-clean guitar and hummingbird drum work lift a buoyant chorus that didn't need a boost to begin with. Elsewhere, the soul-pop confetti of "Space Hero Suits" flutters to entrancing heights. Listen: Those Dancing Days, "Hitten" (DOWNLOAD MP3)

  • Lovvers, 'Think' (Wichita)

    Lovvers are four rapscallions your parents would totally hate. Specializing in no-fi haymakers, these Brits' debut EP is a flash of fly-unzipped pop that somehow crams more than 20 years of punk tricks into just 12 minutes of candied slop. Opener "Human Hair" is a delicious gut-shot of power-chord violence, while elsewhere, "Wasted Youth" boasts wheelie-popping guitar lines that actually have as much in common with the Replacements as they do the later melody-making of Jay Reatard and, gulp, blink-182. Listen: Lovvers, "Wasted Youth" (DOWNLOAD MP3)

  • Cause Co-Motion!, 'It's Time! Singles and EPs 2005–2008' (Slumberland)

    Cause Co-Motion! hustle. Of the 14 songs compiled here, not a one exceeds two minutes, and the Brooklyn foursome fizz through their jangly, three-chord workouts with the melodic aplomb usually reserved for those who love their instruments like brothers, not broken toys. While bookends "Only Fades Away" and "Cry for Attention" call to mind Calvin Johnson's dirty fingernails, the vortex of "Say What You Feel" is Cause Co!'s alone -- 90 seconds of DIY garage bliss tied up with Technicolor chewing gum and shoestring. BUY: iTunesAmazon

  • Cat Power, 'Dark End of the Street' (Matador)

    Less than a year after her second, patchier collection of covers, Jukebox, ChanMarshall offers six slow-dancing holdovers from that album's recording sessions. While her take on Creedence's political burner "Fortunate Son" falters listlessly, the Georgia smoke bomb pays homage to soul heavyweights Otis Redding and Aretha Franklin with more success. Still, her vamping can't touch their steamy-windowed originals -- warm stabs at Redding's "I've Been Loving You Too Long" and James Carr's title track, though sumptuously arranged, work more because of Marshall's bluesy band than her bedtime croon. BUY: iTunesAmazon

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Voli feat. Misun — Burn Everything " 03:51
  • 2 Emay — MAIR " 04:09
  • 3 Grooms — Doctor M " 06:09
  • 4 The Suffers — Make Some Room " 04:34
  • 5 KLOË — Grip " 03:24
  • 6 Dead Right! — Rising Tide (Saint Motel Remix) " 03:17

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA