David Bevan


Manhattan, NY

  • 111026-carter.png

    First Spin: Hear Carter Tanton's 'Fake Pretend' With Marissa Nadler

    When Carter Tanton's frontman work in Tulsa came to a close a few years back, the singer-songwriter joined forces with dream-folk songstress (and fellow Bostonian) Marissa Nadler as a touring guitarist. On "Fake Pretend," a highlight from Tanton's seismic debut LP under his own name, Freeclouds (due in November on Western Vinyl) Nadler returns the gesture. It's an aching, languid piece of mood pop that finds two outrageously gifted vocalists somehow managing to give one another a boost. Download!

  • 101213-the-black-keys-1.png

    Hear a New Black Keys Single, Watch a Dude Dance

    On December 6, the Black Keys will release El Camino, their Danger Mouse-produced follow-up to last year's breakthrough Brothers. (Remember, it was literally deemed a Breakthrough by MTV, who mistook the band for the Black Eyed Peas due to a hilarious "clerical error.") Right now, you can hear first single "Lonely Boy," which was released digitally today and is set to drop as the A-side on a limited edition 12" with fellow El Camino cut "Run Right Back" on November 25 as part of Record Store Day's Black Friday series. It's streaming via a YouTube the Ohio blues-rock duo shared early this morning that's accompanied by footage of a man dancing at what appears to be a motel. Fit with vine-swinging, '60s surf leads and a mammoth chorus, this is the sound of the Black Keys really going for it.

  • 111025-sneaky-sound-system.png

    Nicholas Jaar Re-Imagines Sneaky Sound System's 'Big'

    Earlier this month, Sneaky Sound System dropped From Here to Anywhere, a full-length that brims with the kind of big, extroverted heaters that have made the Sydney dance collective chart-crashers in their native Australia. One of the best bangers, "Big," is a dizzying slab of disco that nascent electro-cosmonaut Nicholas Jaar has reconfigured, peeling away its brasher layers in pursuit of a pensive core that will seriously haunt you. Check out a stream of his remix here and find a free download of the track over at the Modular Facebook page.

  • 111024-the-soft-moon.png

    First Spin: Listen to Soft Moon's 'Total Decay' EP

    The Soft Moon's Luis Vasquez didn't opt to release his Bay Area "darkwave" outfit's Total Decay EP on Halloween by mistake: His work under this particular guise is implacably bleak, lifting much of its charred ambiance and dead-eyed rhythms from goth and industrial touchtones of the 1980s. It's claustrophobic. It's hypnotic and exhilarating. It's splattered with wordless howls and unholy drones and so many sounds and rhythms you'd be nuts to want to hear this on your own. Check out Total Decay in its entirety here (it's okay, we'll keep you company). Let us know what you think and keep the lights on.

  • 111024-phantogram.png

    First Spin: The Tales Behind Phantogram's 'Nightlife'

    Next Tuesday, Barsuk will release Phantogram's Nightlife EP, the New York electro duo's brief but bold follow-up to last year's Eyelid Movies. Just before their recent show at the Metro in Chicago, Josh Carter and Sarah Barthel tried remembering how each of these six songs was born. (They mostly succeeded. OutKast came up.) Check out what they had to say while you spin the full EP: "16 Years"Josh Carter: "This was a song that I wrote as a demo a few years ago, having recorded myself just singing gibberish in falsetto on the road. I ended up translating that into something that made a lot of sense to me. Sometimes, if I'm writing a song, or if we're writing a song together, we'll often sing gibberish because it seems to spawn ideas.

  • 111024-lushlife.png

    First Spin: Lushlife Tackles 'Adult Goth' With Das Racist's Heems

    This week, prolific Philadelphia rapper Lushlife, otherwise known as Raj Haldar, is sharing his excellent No More Golden Days mixtape. It's a release steeped in '90s reference points (particularly Nas' lyrical workouts) and buttressed by mindful production moves, as evidenced by "Adult Goth," a Heems-enriched edit of Gang Gang Dance's song of the very same name. Check the track out below — which features one of our current cover stars — and No More Golden Days in its entirety here. DOWNLOAD

  • 10242011-PearlJam.png

    Pearl Jam Release Cameron Crowe's Grainy 'Not for You' Video

    Earlier this fall, famed film director/music journalist/grunge nerd Cameron Crowe premiered Pearl Jam 20, his feature-length documentary that both fawns over and follows the Seattle rock icons through their 20 years as a band. After a short engagement in select theaters and a nationally televised premiere last week on PBS, Crowe is now sharing a complimentary music video for "Not for You," a bristling standout from 1994's Vitalogy. Culled mostly from grainy archival footage from Peej's homegrown, anti-Ticketmaster tour of the mid-'90s, it's a fan-tailored snapshot of the band just as they began really accelerating away from the mainstream crush that made frontman Eddie Vedder so uncomfortable.

  • 110517-weiland.png

    First Spin: Hear Scott Weiland's Full Christmas Album, Be Merry

    Next Tuesday, Rhino will unleash The Most Wonderful Time of The Year, the first (and hopefully not last) Christmas album from Stone Temple Pilots frontbro Scott Weiland. It's a very classy affair: Among the assortment of familiar standards to be found here are crooned, cozy, warm-bellied takes on "It's the Most Wonderful Time of the Year" and "O Holy Night." Weiland is in full-on crooner mode, backed by an orchestra in the style of Mr. Michael Bublé. Sure, it's not even Halloween yet, but exclusively preview the affair here in its entirety and have yourself a merry little weekend.

  • 111019-deer-tick.png

    First Spin: Hear Deer Tick's 'Divine Providence' LP

    When Deer Tick went back to their home state of Rhode Island to begin work on Divine Providence, they intended to bring the beer-splashed energy of their live set into the studio with them. They wanted to put aside the "folk-rock" for a moment in favor of a sound that, if you were really excited about alliteration, you might call "rude" or "rowdy" or even — ahem — "raucous." They succeeded. Check out a stream of the record in its entirety. It's out next Tuesday courtesy of Partisan. We're sorry, this is no longer available.

  • 20111019-HurricaneBells.jpg

    First Spin: Hear Hurricane Bells' 'Let's Go'

    Hurricane Bells is the solo songwriting and recording vehicle of Longwave's Steve Schiltz, whose fuzzy B-Side, "Monsters" added an extra layer of brooding to Robert Pattinson's entrance in 2009's The Twilight Saga: New Moon. Next week, Schlitz will share Tides and Tales, his second long-player under the Hurricane Bells guise, via Invisible Brigades. Have a listen to skyscraping standout "Let's Go":

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 3 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 4 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 5 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 6 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57
  • 7 Blood Orange — Delancey " 02:15

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA