Tegan and Sara, 'The Con' (Vapor/ Sire)

The Con
Critical Mass
Label: Vapor/ Sire

by J Niimi

The Quin twins' new-wave pop hooks are stronger than ever on their fifth (fourth in the U.S.) album, as the Calgary duo relocates to Portland to work with Death Cab for Cutie producer Chris Walla and the formidable rhythm section of Death Cab drummer Jason McGerr and bassists Hunter Burgan (AFI) and Matt Sharp (the Rentals). The album peaks with the bouncy, piano-driven "Back in Your Head" and the Cars-esque "Hop a Plane," while the title track's a perfect summer anthem -- three and a half minutes of bright, shiny bliss.

Now Hear This: Tegan and Sara - "Back in Your Head" DOWNLOAD MP3

Now Watch This:Tegan and Sara performing in the Spin offices!



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 3 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 4 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 5 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 6 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57
  • 7 Blood Orange — Delancey " 02:15

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA