Planningtorock, 'W' (DFA)

Critical Mass
Release Date: June 14, 2011
Label: DFA

by Jessica Suarez

Planningtorock's Janine Rostron has worked with the Knife, so her unsettling videos and facial prosthetics will always exist in Fever Ray's oddly shaped shadow. Yet 2006's Have It All predated that partnership. Back then, Rostron was in love with Berlin (the city); on W's "Manifesto," she's a "believer of circular love" (object undefined), chanting and moaning and chirping in a pitched-down voice. Elsewhere, she's "your man," in love with "someone." Cheesy, horn-honking synths intertwine with strings and piano to obscure what's acoustic and synthetic. But sometimes confusion is sexy.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 2 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35
  • 3 Azealia Banks — Heavy Metal And Reflective " 02:31
  • 4 Mystery Skulls — Paralyzed (Single Version) " 02:34
  • 5 G-Eazy — Say Ft. French Montana " 04:32
  • 6 Kevin Morby — We Did It All Wrong " 04:47
  • 7 Kiesza — Giant In My Heart (Arches Remix) " 05:50

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA