Flight of the Conchords, 'I Told You I Was Freaky' (Sub Pop)

Critical Mass

by David Peisner

If you laughed when you heard these musical parodies on the New Zealand duo's HBO show, you'll probably laugh again the first time you hear them here. But like most comedy albums, this one loses its luster upon repeated hearings. Bret McKenzie and Jemaine Clement are uniquely talented mimics -- the title track's R. Kelly–isms are note-perfect; the faux reggae of "You Don't Have to Be a Prostitute" recasts the Police's "Roxanne" as the tale of a "man-ho" -- but the song selection is questionable and the visuals sorely missed.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Emay — MAIR " 04:09
  • 2 Grooms — Doctor M " 06:09
  • 3 The Suffers — Make Some Room " 04:34
  • 4 KLOË — Grip " 03:24
  • 5 Dead Right! — Rising Tide (Saint Motel Remix) " 03:17
  • 6 Howardian — Be Fruitful " 02:03

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA