The Fiery Furnaces, 'Remember' (Thrill Jockey)

Critical Mass
Label: Thrill Jockey

by Jessica Suarez

The Fiery Furnaces will never play your favorite song live. The duo of siblings Eleanor and Matthew Friedberger (plus road band) reformat their catalog for every tour, rendering each song virtually unrecognizable, alternately confusing or delighting audiences. On this two-disc mash-up of various live shows, it mostly overwhelms. Early on, "Blueberry Boat" cycles through mutant organ groans, chopsticks, electric piano, and guitar chug-a-chug. Adeptly recorded both through the board and from the audience, Remember is a microcosm of the band's career -- an ambitious mess.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 2 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35
  • 3 Azealia Banks — Heavy Metal And Reflective " 02:31
  • 4 Mystery Skulls — Paralyzed (Single Version) " 02:34
  • 5 G-Eazy — Say Ft. French Montana " 04:32
  • 6 Kevin Morby — We Did It All Wrong " 04:47
  • 7 Kiesza — Giant In My Heart (Arches Remix) " 05:50

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA