Watch Roll the Dice's Wintry 'Cause and Effect' Video

Berlin's dub-techno maestro Pole to remix Swedish duo; Junior Boys remix to follow

Roll The Dice's 'Cause and Effect' Video
Roll The Dice's 'Cause and Effect' Video
Philip Sherburne WRITTEN BY
Philip Sherburne

Stockholm's Roll the Dice make futuristic electronic music with a decidedly old-world flair — something you might have guessed from press photos that depict the duo garbed in 19th-century work-wear and soaked head-to-toe in oil. Consider them the Stockholm techno scene's answer to There Will Be Blood. Their invocation of manual labor is no mere shtick, either: If you've seen them play live, you know that members Malcolm Pardon and Peder Mannerfelt (a.k.a. Fever Ray and Glasser co-producer the Subliminal Kid) are all about getting their hands dirty. No space-bar pantomiming here: Just hardware synthesizers, step sequencers, and overdriven Rhodes piano spewing intractable geysers of viscous tone.

To coincide with a new EP, Roll the Dice Meets Pole – In Dubs, the Leaf label has commissioned a new video for "Cause and Effect," a stately, seven-minute epic from their 2011 album In Dust. Directed by Scandinavia's Frode & Marcus, a frequent Roll the Dice collaborator, the clip takes a hypnotic journey to the far north in the depths of winter, complete with winding mountain roads, quaint villages, and epic beards.

The new EP is just what its title promises: Berlin dub-techno maestro Pole (Stefan Betke) applies his mixing-desk magic to In Dust's "Calling All Workers," "Idle Hands," and "The Skull Is Built into the Tool," yielding a potent distillation of the duo's slippery pulse and peal. The record will be out as a digital download and 12-inch vinyl EP on November 19; Roll the Dice also have a rework of the Junior Boys' "You'll Improve Me" coming out soon — preview the remix in their Mutek 2012 mix, alongside cuts from Tim Hecker, Skinny Puppy, and Vanity 6.


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA