Hear Swearin's Cranked-Up Fuzz-Rock Gem 'Dust in the Gold Sack'

Philly rockers release second song from 'Surfing Strange' LP

Swearin' 'Dust in the Gold Sack' Surfing Strange Allison Crutchfield
Swearin's 'Surfing Strange' album cover
Dan Reilly

Below, Philly grunge-punk outfit Swearin' unveil the second song off of their upcoming sophomore album, Surfing Strange. "Dust in the Gold Sack" features bendy guitars, a driving beat, and harmonies on Allison Crutchfield's vocals that give it a throwback Breeders vibe. It features less of the alternating loud-quiet feel of its predecessor, "Watered Down," but both are forces to be reckoned with when they get heavy.

Swearin's Surfing Strange is due out November 5 via Salinas. Before then, the band will tour Europe with Waxahatchee, the group led by Allison's twin sister Katie. Together, the Crutchfields do one mean cover of Grimes' "Oblivion."

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA