Metallica Welcome 'The Day That Never Comes' on Concert DVD

'Quebec Magnetic' available December 10

Marc Hogan

"The Day That Never Comes" is here. Well, actually, the decidedly Metallica-like Metallica song already arrived as the first single from the metal heavies' 2008 album Death Magnetic, when our own David Marchese accurately described it as an angsty "barrage of double-kick drumming, heroic soloing, and Möbius strip guitar riffs." This chopsy-to-the-max live version, complete with boisterous audience chanting, comes from the band's upcoming Quebec Magnetic concert DVD, due out December 10 as the first release on the newly independent band's own Blackened Recordings. This is what "100 percent" creative control looks and sounds like, we guess, but couldn't it use a little more Lou Reed? (Um, no.)

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 3 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 4 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 5 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 6 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 7 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA